Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Fajardo cops sixth MVP as San Miguel hauls awards in 44th Leo Awards

June Mar Fajardo’s reign as the PBA’s king continues, as he collected his sixth straight Most Valuable Player crown in the 44th annual Leo Awards, Sunday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

This accomplishment by the gentle giant from Cebu has further extended his unprecedented record of most season MVP awards won — a feat which will be difficult to beat.

Fajardo was the runaway winner after his instrumental role in San Miguel’s two championship runs last season, including the Philippine Cup, where the Beermen extended their dynasty to five trophies.

Fajardo’s reign now ends, though, since he will likely miss the entire season. The San Miguel big man is treading the road to recovery after suffering a fractured right tibia during practice last February.

The 30-year-old — who claimed his award riding a medical scooter — posted per-game averages of 18.9 points, 13.0 rebounds, and 1.5 blocks. He also played in all of SMB’s 61 outings last season.

Fajardo beat TNT KaTropa star Jayson Castro; new scoring champion CJ Perez of Columbian Dyip; and ex-teammate and now NorthPort Batang Pier Christian Standhardinger for the plum.

Perez, the top pick of the 2018 Rookie Draft, has been impressive in just his first season in the pros. For his performances, he has been hailed as last season’s Rookie of the Year.

The Lyceum product normed a league-best 20.8 points, 7.4 boards, 3.4 assists, and 1.9 steals per game.

The four MVP candidates make up the Mythical Team along with Sean Anthony, who played a key role in NorthPort’s second-seed finish in the Commissioner’s Cup, as well as its Governors’ Cup semis trip.

#ReadMore  Standhardinger contract hold out led to Ginebra trade, says NorthPort

Anthony is also the league’s steals leader with 2.4 a game. He leads the All-Defensive Team with Perez, Fajardo, SMB’s Chris Ross, and Barangay Ginebra San Miguel’s Japeth Aguilar.

Aguilar, the 2019 Governors’ Cup Finals MVP, leads the Mythical Second Team, made up of Gin King Stanley Pringle, Magnolia Hotshot Ian Sangalang, and Texters Roger Pogoy and Troy Rosario.

Another Beerman in Mo Tautuaa bagged Most Improved Player honors, thanks to his fine play with NorthPort before it traded him to San Miguel in the middle of the Governors’ Cup.

Rain or Shine lifer Gabe Norwood earned the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award, increasing his collection to three.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


Baser Amer and Mike Ayonayon joined hands in the endgame as Blackwater spoiled the debut of San Miguel, 109-106, to bounce back in the...

2023 FIBA World Cup

Chris Newsome of the Meralco continued to show up in Gilas Pilipinas’ weekly practice session amid nursing a calf contusion that forced him to...


CJ Perez stood out among Lyceum of the Philippines University’s mammoth crowd on Sunday in its matchup against Colegio de San Juan de Letran....


Ginebra bounced back from a dismal 2022-23 PBA Commissioner’s Cup opener by holding off Meralco, 99-91, Sunday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum. Resident import...


Troy Rosario hopes to help change the culture of Blackwater by bringing all the lessons and experience he garnered during his time with TNT....


Troy Rosario proved to be the difference as Blackwater dusted dirt off its shoulders and beat Phoenix Super LPG, 97-85, for win no. 1...


Troy Rosario lamented that he felt disappointed with himself following his trade by TNT to Blackwater, in one of the biggest player movements to...

2023 FIBA World Cup

Twelve players were present during Gilas Pilipinas Men’s first practice held at Meralco Gym on Monday evening. In a surprise, coaches Chot Reyes and...