Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Espejo shatters Spikers’ Turf scoring mark, powers Cignal to Open Conference crown

Marck Espejo’s historic night powered Cignal against Go for Gold-Air Force, 21-25, 25-22, 24-26, 25-16, 15-6, clinching the 2019 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference title, Tuesday at Paco Arena.

Espejo, who was named as the Finals MVP after the series, now holds the record of most points in league history after tallying 43 big points founded on 33 attacks, eight hits, and two kill blocks laced with 22 excellent receptions and eight digs.

The previous scoring record in the league was Howard Mojica’s 41-point outing last August 19, 2015 when Emilio Aguinaldo College faced Ateneo.

With Air Force looking to extend the series, the HD Spikers did not bend and leaned on Espejo to clinch the fourth frame and forge a fifth set.

The four-time league MVP, who previously dropped 55 points in a UAAP game back in April 21, 2018, then fired five points in the HD Spikers’ 9-3 blast to take a six-point advantage midway through the final set.

Air Force then managed to trim the lead down to four off a hit from Rikko Marmetto and an attack error from Espejo.

However, the Ateneo great ran roughshod on the Jet Spikers once more, unloading five of Cignal’s last six points to finally seal the HD Spikers’ double gold.

“Sobrang happy and overwhelming, hindi namin lubos maisip na kami pa rin magchachampion kasi ang daming nawala e. Nagpapasalamat ako siyempre kay Lord kasi binigay niya sa amin ‘to,”
said Cignal head coach Dexter Clamor.

Ysay Marasigan chipped in 11 points in the title-clinching victory while long-time HD Spiker Edmar Bonono also added 11 markers and nine digs.

#ReadMore  Chot Reyes sees Caelum Harris, Lebron Lopez as leaders of Gilas Youth

Vince Mangulabnan steered the offense with 30 excellent sets while Manuel Sumanguid led the defense with 15 excellent receptions and 10 digs.

Air Force, who surrendered their second straight crown to Cignal, was led by Ran Abdilla with 18 points.

Fauzi Ismail had 16 markers while Francis Saura and Kim Malabunga finished with 12 and 11 points, respectively.

Rikko Marmeto tallied 28 excellent receptions and 18 digs in the loss while Jessie Lopez ended with 22 excellent sets.

Written By

You May Also Like


Marck Espejo bucked a minor injury to help Cignal take down PGJC-Navy in three sets to advance to the 2022 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference...


Cignal ousted PGJC-Navy in three sets, 25-22, 25-21, 25-20 to advance to the 2022 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference finals, Tuesday at the Paco Arena....


Louie Ramirez is always ready when needed by Cignal in the 2022 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference. And he got a lot of sets in...


Cignal bucked the early loss of Marck Espejo to get back on track in the 2022 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference round-robin semifinals by eliminating...


Sweet was the revenge for National University-Sta. Elena, turning back elimination round tormentor Cignal in five sets, 20-25, 22-25, 25-23, 25-21, 15-10, Thursday night...


Cignal star Marck Espejo felt nostalgic after going up against National University-Sta. Elena in the 2022 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference last Tuesday. No, it...


Cignal secured the second seed after handing National University-Sta. Elena its first loss, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22, on the final day of the 2022 Spikers’...


American reinforcement Tai Bierria will be Cignal’s guest player for the upcoming 2022 Premier Volleyball League Reinforced Conference, the team announced on Friday. The...