Connect with us


Enderun secures third straight tiara



Tiebreaker Times Enderun secures third straight tiara Basketball NAASCU News  Wiz Duazo Rizal Technological University Blue Lady Thunder Princess Manzanares NAASCU Season 18 Mary Grace Calang Kate Marcos Jeremiah Yonzon Haydee Ong Enderun Lady Titans

Enderun College joined the ranks of the all-time great teams by ruling the Women’s Division of the 18th National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities, presented by Bitcoin Cash, marking the school’s third straight championship in as many years of participation.

The visiting Lady Titans made short work of home side Rizal Technological University Lady Thunder, 77-60, to sweep the best of three series, Tuesday.

But the trophy did not come easy compared to the Lady Titans’ first seven games, which were all blowouts.

Spurred by the home crowd, the Lady Thunder rallied to overturn their 29-41 halftime deficit to take the lead with three minutes left in the third period, on a basket by Wiz Duazo, 48-47.

Enderun recovered behind the backcourt tandem of Mary Grace Calang and Kate Marcos, as they forced a series of turnovers leading to easy layups and a 58-48 advantage entering the final 10 minutes.

The Lady Titans then went for the knockout blow, with Princess Abigail Manzanares joining Calang and Marcos in the scoring parade, with the final tally representing the game’s biggest margin.

Manzanares led Enderun with 19 points, nine rebounds, and six assists. Calang and Marcos both ended up with 14 each, while Joylyn Pangilinan and Shenzhen Callangan were the other double-digit scorers with 12 and 11 respectively.

Jeremiah Yonzon paced the Lady Thunder with 15 points on three triples. Duazo was next with 13 points and 14 rebounds, while Rachel Dayupay added 12 points off the bench. Chicky Faraon had a double-double of 10 points and 11 rebounds.

READ  Tin Capilit sinks game-winner against UE, arrests UST's two-game skid

It was hard luck for RTU, who finished as runners-up for the sixth straight season. Before the arrival of Enderun, the Lady Thunder had lost three straight to Centro Escolar University from 2013 to 2015.

Other members of the champion team are team captain Fayth Pumaren, Sarah Samantha Casal, Princess Caren Baylosis, Roxy Liao, Francine Geli, Breana Chauca, Czareena Gonzalez, Dhana Dalagan, and Geraldine Chapa.

Coach Haydee Ong also joins the list of multi-titled NAASCU Basketball coaches with her third championship.

The Scores:

Enderun (77) – Manzanares 19, Calang 14, Marcos 14, Pangilinan 12, Callangan 11, Baylosis 4, Pumaren 3, Casal 0, Geli 0, Gonzalez 0, Dalagan 0.

RTU (60) – Yonzon 15, Duazo 13, Dayupay 12, Faraon 10, Belicena 8, Subere 2, Alba 0, Tagudin 0, Co 0.

Quarterscores: 13-17, 41-29, 58-48, 77-60.

Story from Servsports