Connect with us


DLSU Lady Jins win the Taekwondo Nationals



LPU takes 2nd, UP wins bronze

De La Salle University – White avenge PTL Loss, beats Lyceum University of the Philippines

The DLSU-White Lady Jins avenged their 2013 Philippine Taekwondo League loss to the LPU Lady Jins to win the 38th Annual Taekwondo Nationals. The team of Alyssa Bonifacio, Leigh Nuguid, Apriel Solimen, Jyra Lizardo and Patricia Gonzalez made a clean sweep of their rivals from Lyceum.

Apriel Solimen was honored with winning the best player of the tournament. DLSU head coach Roberto Cruz bestowed the medal upon her. In a light moment, Coach Cruz told the press that all of his players deserved the medal with their dominating performance but it was Apriel Solimen who deserved the best player award for her consistent performance for the one-day tournament.

During their Philippine Taekwondo League championship match that occurred last December 8, 2013, Lyceum defeated De La Salle in a close match-up. However, with the majority of the 2013 De La Salle Lady Jin roster graduating the past year, majority of this year’s roster are first-year student athletes. This was the first major tournament wherein the new recruits are showcased and they passed their first test with flying colors.

With this win, the De La Salle University Lady Jins are now looking forward to the UAAP Season 77 Taekwondo Tournament and are one of the contenders to win the tournament for this year. Meanwhile, second-place finisher Lyceum University of the Philippines will look to bounce back during the NCAA Season 90 Taekwondo Tournament.

University of the Philippines Maroon 5 triumphs over De La Salle – Green to take home 3rd place

The UP Maroon 5 bounced back from their semi-finals loss over De La Salle – White with a win over the De La Salle – Green team in the bronze medal match of the 38th Annual Taekwondo Nationals.

De La Salle – Green was looking for two podium-finishes to prove their dominance in the women’s taekwondo division. DLSU – Green started of strong with Cleio Banez defeating Nicole Sibug via points 3-1.

The Maroons would bounce back in the next three matches to secure the bronze medal finish. Chazza Alambra defeated Regis Farah via points 5-3, Ke Lozada won a nail-biter over Camille Bonje 10-9, and Janin Marcaida won the first round and never looked back against Paola Amon 8-5.

With the bronze medal in hand, Cymyn Perlas won the final match of the series against Gabrielle Yuchingtat in a close match via points 5-4.

Total aggregate points over the course of the UP Maroon 5 – DLSU-Green was 29-24 advantage Maroon 5.

Tiebreaker Times DLSU Lady Jins win the Taekwondo Nationals News

Rules of the tournament:

Teams/Clubs are composed of 5 jins from different weight divisions
Teams/Clubs win a series with 3 wins out of 5 matches
2 rounds of 90 seconds per match

Point System:
1 point is scored with a solid body kick
2 points is scored with a solid turning body kick
3 points is scored with a solid head kick
4 points is scored with a solid turning head kick
1 point is scored with a solid punch to the body
8 seconds is given for a fallen jin. If the jin cannot continue, the opposing jin wins via knockout

A kyong-go (warning) is given with a certain foul. 2 kyong-go’s would result to a point deduction.
A gam-jun (deduction) is given when a jin commits a heavy foul. A gam-jun would result to a point deduction.
If a jin accumulates 4 total point deductions, the jin is disqualified.

*In case of a tie after two rounds, a golden round of 2 minutes occurs with the first jin scoring winning the match.
** In case no one scores in the golden round, the jury decides the victor via superiority. Superiority is based on aggressiveness and court control.

Click to comment