Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

DLSU completes the double championship, sweeps UP 2-0

And again, going head-to-head in the finals are the green and maroon. Looking to defend their title are the UP Lady Maroons, with the upset-hungry third seed De La Salle Lady Archers vying for the gold. In starck contrast with their men’s counterparts’ own encounter, the match-up between the lady paddlers from Taft and Diliman to be quite the shocker.



Carreon, Madelie A

Co, Ina Allell

Galera, Marcelle Josephine M

Gamilla, Donna Marie R.

Lariba, Ian N.

Lumenda, Kimberly R

Sy, Jamaica Dianne G.

Talento, Darianne Mae T.








Game 1- October 2, 9am

La Salle’s Gamilla would pull through in the opening match, routing UP’s Morales in four sets to put La Salle ahead. UP’s Sibal would manage to equalize, responding with a 3-1 rout of La Salle’s Sy. The Lady Maroons would manage to grab another point after a 3-1 doubles victory from the duo of Magpantay and Ching over La Salle’s Carreon and Talento in the third match. Ian Lariba however would equalize for the paddlers from Taft after a 3-0 demolition of UP’s Maderal in the fourth match. Ina Co would give La Salle the victory for the morning after taking down UP’s Nishino 3-1 in the fifth set.

Game 2- October 2, 1pm

UP’s Morales would return to the court in explosive form, surviving a grueling five set encounter with La Salle’s Jamaica Sy to put the Lady Maroons ahead. However, the game would take a sudden turn. A 3-0 routing from La Salle’s Gamilla over UP’s Sibal would level the playing field. The duo of Carreon and Talento would manage to avenge their doubles loss in the first game over the UP tandem of Magpantay and Ching, 3-1, to give La Salle the lead. And in the fourth match, Ian Lariba would seal the upset after a 3-0 rout over UP’s Nishino, dethroning the Lady Maroons to snag the double victory, the men’s team also having won in their own finals encounter earlier that day.

Individual awards:
Most Valuable Player: Ian Lariba(DLSU)
Rookie of the Year: Josephine Talay(FEU)

Written By

You May Also Like