Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Dara Carreon ends UP’s 50m breaststroke dominance as Ateneo rules Day 2 events

There’s no slowing down the Ateneo de Manila University Lady Eagles, as they swept the gold medals in all five events of the second day of the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Swimming Championships at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex Swimming Pool.

Ateneo’s Chloe Daos added another pair of gold medals to her name as she ruled the 400m freestyle and 100m butterfly, establishing herself as the clear favorite to repeat as the Most Valuable Player.

Daos broke away from the pack early in the 400m freestyle race and swam most of the distance alone as she sped to a 4:33.37 finish. Nadine Tee Ten of the University of the Philippines touched second at 4:47.30, while Ateneo’s Raegan Gavino finished third at 4:49.09.

In the 100m butterfly, it was a podium sweep by the Lady Eagles, led by Daos (1:04.60). Rookie Suzanne Himor (1:06.91) was a clear second, while Kristine Santos (1:08.16) finished third.

Courtney Gray of Ateneo also brought home a gold medal in the 200m backstroke with a time of 2:30.94, clearly a notch above her closest rivals. Tee Ten finished second in 2:35.02, while UP’s rookie Angela Villamil finished third in 2:35.67.

The most surprising win of the afternoon came from Ateneo’s rookie Dara Carreon, a backstroke specialist, who ruled the 50m breaststroke – an event won by UP for over a decade. Her time of 36.53 seconds was good enough to outclass UP’s Alyssa Pogiongko (36.78 seconds) and Pricila Aquino (36.91 seconds).

To cap off the day’s hostilities, Ateneo’s 400m freestyle relay squad of Shaye Uy, Santos, Hannah Castañeda and Andrea Ngui manufactured a come-from-behind victory, finishing in 4:15.87, to frustrate their Katipunan rivals UP, who touched in at 4:16.82. UST ended third with a time of 4:29.29.

#ReadMore  SMC donates 85,000 liters of Petron fuel to 'Libreng Sakay' program

UAAP Swimming action continues on November 10, 2018 and will run until November 11, 2018 at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex Swimming Pool. Day 3 events include the 200m freestyle, 100m breaststroke, 50m butterfly, 100m backstroke, 400m individual medley, and the 200m freestyle relay.

MVP Race

Chloe Daos (ADMU) – 60
Nadine Tee Ten (UP) – 39
Regan Gavino (ADMU) – 36
Dara Carreon (ADMU) – 29
Courtney Gray (ADMU) – 27

Team Standings

ADMU – 248
UP – 174
UST – 72
DLSU – 47

Written By

Aldo is an ultimate sports enthusiast who watches and plays a multitude of sports like basketball, volleyball, swimming and water polo. His heart bleeds blue as he graduated in Jesuit institutions and is currently employed in one. Purefoods (or whatever name they call it now) in the PBA and the LA Lakers in the NBA are his favorite basketball teams.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Ateneo libero Dani Ravena played a huge role when the Lady Eagles evened up the series after a four-set victory in Game Two of...


Anton Asistio feels honored to have had Jai Reyes as a teammate in Bataan during the early goings of the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball...


Despite having to cancel Season 82 due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the University Athletic Association of the Philippines still made sure to...


What would have happened if Ben Mbala played out his final year of eligibility with La Salle? Would have he stopped the current Ateneo...


Ateneo de Manila University honored two of its most dominant student-athletes during the short-lived UAAP Season 82 tournament on Thursday. Thirdy Ravena of basketball...


LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — Chloe Daos and Ateneo capped another dominant campaign by securing the school’s third straight UAAP Women’s Swimming Championship, Sunday at...


LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — University of the Philippines may have won the day, but Ateneo remains poised to win its third straight title after...


LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — Reigning UAAP MVP Chloe Daos continued to collect golds in her third campaign with Ateneo, adding the 400m Freestyle (4:42.37)...