Jackson Corpuz will have to pay Php20,000 for his foul on Troy Rosario in Game Three of the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup Finals last Sunday.
Following a thorough review, the league’s technical committee has upgraded the flagrant foul penalty 1 called on him to F2 – thus the penalty.
No suspension was meted on the Magnolia bruiser, who was ejected from the match – which his side won – as he already got called for a technical earlier.
That particular incident has been the talk of the town for days now. The TNT forward crash to the floor hard following a bump from Corpuz.
It took him a while to get back up before his fellow Tropang Giga carried him onto the bench, leaving with a dislocated pinky on his left hand.
But it wasn’t just a broken finger that Rosario incurred. He has reportedly suffered a spinal shock, causing only 70-percent sensation on his left leg.
With that, the Gilas Pilipinas stalwart is doubtful to return to the best-of-seven series, which resumes on Wednesday with Game Four.
The league made public the decision on Corpuz through its website, where the technical committee also admitted the fault of referee Kenny Hallig.
Hallig was the one calling a foul on Brian Heruela when he challenged Paul Lee’s three-point attempt. It led to a trip to the line for the latter.
But numerous replays showed that the TNT point guard stood far from the Magnolia star. And the league confessed that refs called it wrongly.
“We made a wrong call, we admit that. No excuses,” Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro told PBA.ph.
Commissioner Willie Marcial had earlier said that they have removed Hallig from the pool of refs officiating the championship series.