Connect with us


BRT Sumisip-St. Clare notches top seed in record-breaking fashion



Tiebreaker Times BRT Sumisip-St. Clare notches top seed in record-breaking fashion Basketball News PBA D-League  Vis Valencia Stevenson Tiu Mohammed Pare Joseph Penaredondo Jett Vidal Irvin Palencia Darwin Lunor Dahrell Caranguian Clark Derige BRT Sumisip-St. Clare Saints Black Mamba 2019 PBA D-League Second Conference
Photo by PBA Images

BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare secured the top seed in Group B after tearing Black Mamba apart by 39 points, 161-122, in the 2019 PBA D-League Second Conference at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

Malian big man Mohammed Pare set the pace for the Saints with 31 points and 19 rebounds in the win as they took down a number of scoring records in the blowout.

BRT Sumisip-St. Clare scored the most points in league history at 161, surpassing the 144 set by Hyperwash in their conquest of McDavid-La Salle Araneta last August 19.

The Saints’ 95-point second-half explosion was also the most points scored in a half, topping Tanduay’s 83-point second-half surge in their 141-65 win over Zark’s last July 10, 2017. Their 53 fourth-quarter points tied the Rhum Masters’ third-quarter output in their 113-71 conquest of Gamboa Coffee last June 27, 2017 for the most in a single period.

“Kita niyo naman nage-enjoy na yung mga bata nung huli,” said coach Stevenson Tiu, surprised to learn that his charges made history in the victory.

More than anything, the trouncing hiked their card to 5-0 and locked up a twice-to-beat advantage in the playoffs.

“Of course, kahit sinong coach masaya with that advantage for the playoffs,” said Tiu.

Joseph Peñaredondo scored 25 points built on six treys. Darwin Lunor had 16 points, while Irven Palencia and Raymond Rubio added 12 markers apiece.

BRT Sumisip-St. Clare buried 12 triples in the affair.

The Energy Drink still challenged the Saints, until they heated up and made a 16-0 run abridging the second and third periods. They turned a 57-54 deficit to a 70-57 lead with 9:25 on the clock.

READ  Kevin Belingon headlines Heroes of Honor card

The result was never in doubt from then on. BRT Sumisip-St. Clare would enjoy a lead as high as 47 points, 159-112, after a Peñaredondo three-pointer with 1:34 left in the tilt.

Jett Vidal had 18 points to lead Black Mamba, who fell to 3-2 following the humiliating defeat.

Dahrell Caranguian and Clark Derige had 17 points apiece. Meanwhile, John Tayongtong, Nicol Bolos, and ex-pro PJ Barua all scored 11 markers each for the Energy Drink.

The Scores:

BRT Sumisip-St. Clare 161 – Pare 31, Peñaredondo 25, Lunor 16, Palencia 12, Rubio 12, Hallare 11, Collado 8, Fontanilla 8, Decano 8, Manacho 8, Tiquia 6, Ng 6, Bautista 5, Santos 5, Dumapig 1.

Black Mamba 122 –– Vidal 18, Derige 17, Caranguian 17, Bolos 11, Barua 11, Tayongtong 11, Balucanag 7, Vitug 7, Boholano 6, Gadon 6, Carongoy 5, Castro 4, Medina 2, Santiago 0.

Quarterscores: 32-32, 66-57, 108-80, 161-122.