Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Army’s Bordeos introduces self, takes down Ronda Pilipinas first leg

SORSOGON — Mark Julius Bordeos of Bicycology-Army made his presence felt, coming out of nowhere to rule the opening stage of the LBC Ronda Pilipinas 10th anniversary race that started and ended in this Bicolandia city, Sunday morning.

Bordeos, 24, stuck with the big guns, made his move late, and edged Jerry Aquino, Jr. of Scratch It, Rustom Lim of 7Eleven Cliqq-Air21 by Roadbike Philippines, and George Oconer of Standard Insurance-Navy in a mad dash to the finish to claim the 129.5-kilometer Stage One.

All four clocked three hours, six minutes and seven seconds in this annual race, which is presented by LBC and supported by the Manny V. Pangilinan Foundation, staking P1 million to the individual champion.

“Sinundan ko lang sila bago ako nag-pull away nung last five-hundred [meters]. Alam ko naman na kakayanin ko eh,” said Bordeos, an army man from Laoac, Pangasinan, in Filipino.

Mark Galedo of 7Eleven — the 2012 champion who is back after a four-year absence — struck early by towing a big group of breakaway riders. He slowed in the end, though, settling for fifth in 3:06:10.

“Naging maganda sana yung karera kapag ginawa nila yung part nila. Nung nakita ko na nawala sila, dun din ako bumagal,” said the 34-year-old Galedo, who took the mountains classifications lap.

Jan Paul Morales of Standard, who is seeking to become the first three-time winner here, ended up not too far behind and checked in alongside Aiden James Mendoza, Marcelo Felipe, Mervin Corpuz, Celeste Cycling Team’s Alvin Benosa with identical times of 3:06:19.

#ReadMore  Jan Paul Morales tops Ronda ITT first stage

Go for Gold’s Daniel Ven Carino, Jonel Carcueva likewise got into the mix, ending 12th in 3:07:01.

Standard’s Ronald Oranza, the last Filipino winner here two years ago, was with 7Eleven’s Nichol Pareja at 16th in 3:07:28. Meanwhile, Reimon Lapaza of Celeste, the 2014 titlist of who is also making a comeback, cracked the Top 20 by clocking 3:07:32.

In the team race, Standard seized command by amassing a total time of 12:24:55. On the other hand, 7Eleven and Celeste Cycles were second and third in 12:27:26 and 12:27:35, respectively.

The 10-stage race supported by Versa, 8A Performance, Print2Go, Petron, Green Planet, Bike Xtreme, Standard Insurance, Spyder, CCN, Lightwater, Prolite, Guerciotti, Black Mamba, Boy Kanin, Vitamin Boost, NLEX-SCTEX, Maynilad, 3Q Sports Event Management Inc., LBC Foundation and PhilCycling resumes today with a 150.6km Sorsogon-Legazpi Stage 10.

Written By

You May Also Like


Defending champion George Oconer and 2018 winner Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance made their presences felt after a slow start and bounced back...


Jan Paul Morales of Excellent Noodles delivered as promised and ruled the 12.3-kilometer Individual Time Trial Stage One of the 11th LBC Ronda Pilipinas...


George Oconer of Navy Standard Insurance will shoot for nothing less than a second straight LBC Ronda Pilipinas title as the 11th edition of...


LBC Ronda Pilipinas will hold its 11th edition with 13 teams seeing action in the 10-stage race unfurling in Sorsogon City on March 11...


The 2021 Premier Volleyball League Open Conference will open with a bang. Serving as the main event of the league’s opening day on July...

2021 SEA Games

The postponement of the Hanoi 31st Southeast Asian Games didn’t matter at all to the 111 cyclists vying in the PhilCycling National Trials for...


All 12 teams of the Premier Volleyball League have agreed to move the start of the 2021 Open Conference to the late second quarter...


With National Capitol Region-Plus still under lockdown, the Premier Volleyball League is looking to discuss with all 12 of its member teams new options...