Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Adamson spoils Woo’s record 39-point performance, stops La Salle’s streak

Relying on a balanced effort, the Adamson University Soaring Falcons braver Raymark Woo’s barrage of spikes to claim a five-set victory over the De La Salle University Green Spikers 17-25, 25-21, 19-25, 25-20, 15-13 in the UAAP Men’s Volleyball Tournament at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

The match boiled down to who claimed the lead first in each set. La Salle broke away early in the first and third frames through Woo’s impeccable attacking. Adamson caught brakes midway through the second and fourth sets as La Salle gave away untimely errors.

The fifth set was tied for the most part until Adamson’s Dave Pletado nailed a huge block on a Raymark Woo cross-court hit for an 11-9 lead. From there, both squad’s traded points with Adamson utilizing smart combination plays to end rallies quickly. Leading 13-12, Adamson set a differential play for Pao Pablico then took the match after Bryan Saraza smashed a hit over an unsuspecting La Salle defense.

Pletado led four Falcons who scored in double-digits with 19 points off 14 attacks and five blocks. Jerome Sarmiento tallied 16 markers, Mike Sudaria amassed 13, while Bryan Saraza added 10 points. Setter Nico Ramirez coupled seven points with 47 excellent sets.

“Sabi ko lang sa team na sa kami-kami muna ang mag-usap sa loob ng court. Si coach kasi naninigaw na out of pressure, napapasa lang sa amin. Kaya sabi ko magtiwala lang sa isa’t isa,” said Adamson team captain Mike Sudaria.

Raymark Woo finished with a UAAP record 39 makers, beating out UST great Mark Alfafara’s 37-point performance in last season’s Final Four. Wingers Levin Dimayuga and Arjay Onia each contributed 14 points.

#ReadMore  NLEX survives Yeng Guiao's ejection, deals Alaska back-to-back routs

Adamson improves their record to 8-3, good for second place behind the 9-1 Ateneo Blue Eagles. La Salle drops to seventh with a 4-7 slate.

The Soaring Falcons next take on the University of the East Warriors on April 2 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena. On the other hand, La Salle faces the Ateneo Blue Eagles on April 3 at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Scores:

AdU (3) – Pletado 19, Sarmiento 16, Sudaria 13, Saraza 10, Pablico 8, Ramirez 7, Yude 0, Consunji 0, Melgar (L), Mendiolla (L)

DLSU (2) – Woo 39, Dimayuga 14, Onia 14, Jose 8, Asia 7, Bacon 2, Dumago 2, Calasin 1, Delos Reyes 0, Maravilla 0, Frey 0, Movido (L)

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like

Beach Volleyball

Reigning UAAP champion University of Santo Tomas, led by Sofiah Pagara and Khy Progella, upended National University’s Honey Grace Cordero and Kat Epa, 16-21,...

Beach Volleyball

The retooled Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour continues to push for a more competitive platform for beach volleyball in the country. Since 2016, the...


De La Salle University setter Eco Adajar received the ultimate praise from National University head coach Dante Alinsunurin. After the Bulldogs ended the Green...


For the ninth straight season, National University is in the Finals. The second-ranked Bulldogs finished third seed De La Salle Green Spikers in just...


Michaelo Buddin made sure that National University would have a twice-to-beat edge in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Volleyball Final Four, taking a gutsy...


De La Salle University silenced University of Santo Tomas inside a jampacked SMART Araneta Coliseum, winning in four sets 25-20, 25-27, 25-20, 25-18, to...


De La Salle University eliminated rival Ateneo de Manila University in four tight sets, 25-21, 23-25, 26-24, 25-19, to force a tie for the...


De La Salle University showcased immense poise in a four-set thriller to pull off a shocker, upsetting three-time defending champion National University, 25-19, 25-18,...