Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


24 teams duke it out come Spikers’ Turf Open Conference

Fresh off a successful Reinforced Conference tournament last July, Spikers’ Turf organizer Sports Vision Management Group Inc. will hold its biggest tournament yet on August 20.

A total of 24 teams have confirmed their participation in the 2019 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference.

Last year, the tournament was only composed of 10 teams. This time though, there will be 10 clubs and 14 school-based teams competing for the crown.

Defending champions Go For Gold-Air Force Jet Spikers and newly-minted Reinforced Conference title-holders Cignal HD Spikers will lead the pack, together with clubs PLDT, Philippine Army, Philippine Navy, Philippine Coast Guard, IEM, VNS Volleyball Club, Sta. Elena-NU, and Easytrip-Raimol.

UAAP Season 81 runners-up Far Eastern University, along with the Ateneo de Manila University, University of Sto. Tomas, Adamson University, and De La Salle University also expressed their commitment to the league.

Meanwhile, NCAA squads will also take part in the tournament with the University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta leading the way. Behind them are the Emilio Aguinaldo College, Arellano University, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, Mapua University, and Lyceum of the Philippines University.

Completing the cast are the Philippine National Police, Centro Escolar University, and National College of Business and Arts.

The teams will be divided into four pools consisting of six squads, which will feature a single-round robin. The top two teams per pool will advance to the quarterfinals stage. The top-seeded squads will be armed with a twice-to-bet incentive.

Top-ranked teams from Pool A will be facing teams from Pool C in Group One, while Pool B will be squaring off against Pool D in Group B. Winners from Groups One and Two will play in a best-of-three semifinals series.

#ReadMore  F2 Logistics, BaliPure, Cignal begin bubble training

Winners from the semifinals stage will advance to a best-of-three gold medal series, while the losers will figure in the battle for bronze.

Written By

You May Also Like


Ralph Cabalsa carried San Beda University in the fourth set to eliminate Emilio Aguinaldo College in four sets, 25-22, 25-27, 25-16, 26-24, in the...


While Marck Espejo and Jau Umandal have proven their worth abroad before, JP Bugaoan and Manuel Sumanguid will try their luck overseas for the...


University of Santo Tomas grounded Adamson University back to earth with a sweep, 25-21, 25-20, 25-15, for its fifth consecutive win and seventh overall...


Ateneo de Manila University brushed off a slow start to repulse the University of the East in four sets, 22-25, 25-20, 25-22, 25-19, for...


National University made quick work of De La Salle University, winning 25-20, 25-20, 25-16, to extend its run to eight victories in as many...


Marck Espejo finally gets another chance to play abroad after his inclusion in the 32-man pool that will compose the Asian Quota tryout of...


Cignal closed in on the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference Finals after making quick work of Iloilo, 25-17, 25-16, 25-19, in the round-robin semifinals...


After missing the opportunity to write history in the eliminations, Marck Espejo and the rest of the Cignal HD Spikers made sure to keep...