Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Harold Alarcon, Harvey Pagsanjan shine in seeding round of SM-NBTC National Finals

Harold Alarcon and James Barrera turned a lot of heads with their stellar play for Bacolod Tay Tung High School’s 87-62 rout of University of Luzon-Dagupan in the opening day of the 2018 Exped SM-NBTC National Finals Seeding Round, presented by Chooks-to-Go at One E-Com Center on Sunday.

The highly-touted forward Alarcon shook off his first half woes and came alive for the Ilonggos, dropping 15 of his 17 points in the second half breakaway, while also hauling down seven rebounds.

Barrera, meanwhile, was solid with his 21 markers and 11 boards, while Ryan Cruz exploded for 13 in the payoff period to wound up with 19 points as Bacolod Tay Tung claimed the 28th seed.

Ryan Untalan was the lone bright spot for University of Luzon-Dagupan with 24 points.

Fourteen other teams saw action in the opening day to determine their placing in the first round on Monday.

Adamson hacked out an 82-77 victory over Filam Sports USA behind Adrian Manlapaz’ 17 points and 13 rebounds.

Joseph Podrigo also contributed 17 markers on a 5-of-8 shooting from the field as the Falcons claimed the 12-seed.

Jalen Green impressed for Filam Sports USA with his 24 points and seven boards.

Durham Crossover Canada also eked out a 65-64 win against Letran behind Matthew Daves’ 17 points and eight rebounds.

Tyler Garcia poured 15 markers, including the go-ahead three in the final minute, while Denzel Faraon got 11 points and five boards as the Fil-Canadians took the 11-seed.

The Squires banked on John Valdez, who got a double-double of 14 markers and 11 rebounds, and Niel Tolentino, who had 12 points and four boards.

#ReadMore  Fil-Am Jalen Green provides highlight dunk in Team USA debut

San Sebastian dispatched Camp David New Zealand, 95-54, behind the balanced attack led by Damie Cuntapay’s 13 points and six rebounds to claim the 10-seed.

Tyler Martin was the lone Fil-Kiwi to notch double-figures with 11 markers in the defeat.

Letran-Bataan banked on its potent trio to turn back St. Columban College-Pagadian, 76-49 and claim the 27-seed.

Dither Ferriols and Julius Garcia did the damage for the Balanga natives with their 19 points apiece, while they were backstopped by Aerone Santos, who tallied a double-double of 18 markers and 12 boards in the win.

Kennon Halasan paced the Pagadian dribblers with 12.

St. Louis-Don Bosco Dumaguete also escaped a game challenge from Jesus the Loving Shepherd-Naga, 71-69 to grab the 26-seed.

Ian Lazarte and Karl Dave unloaded 13 points apiece for the Negros ballers.

The Ilocano side, meanwhile, relied on Dave Areno’s 15 markers and 11 rebound performance.

University of the Assumption-San Fernando also decimated New Ormoc City National High School, 71-48 to take the 25-seed.

Gerald Pagcu’s 15 points and Justine Bondoc’s 14 markers and eight rebounds guided the Kapampangans in the rout.

Lyiell Pepito topscored for the Tarlaqueños with 15.

Harvey Pagsanjan went berserk with his 33 points as he delivered the tight 58-57 victory for the now-9-seed Hope Christian High School over AusPinoy Australia in the nightcap.

Cooper McLaughlin paced the Fil-Aussies with 21 markers in the defeat.

With the seedings set, the tournament now shifts to a high gear with the first round scheduled on Monday.

Here are the games which will simultaneously played on three venues:

#ReadMore  Smart secures at least quarters seat


SM MOA Arena:
8 a.m. – Letran (14) vs Assumption College of Davao (19)
9:30 a.m. – Durham Crossover-Canada (11) vs University of Baguio (22)
11 a.m. – AusPinoy Australia (16) vs Assumption-Cagayan de Oro (17)
2 p.m. – San Sebastian (10) vs Hercor College of Roxas (23)
3:30 p.m. – Ateneo de Manila (1) vs New Ormoc City HS (32)
5 p.m. – University of Visayas (4) vs University of Luzon-Dagupan (29)
6:30 p.m. – San Beda (7) vs St. Louis-Don Bosco Dumaguete (26)
8 p.m. – NU (5) vs Bacolod Tay Tung HS (28)

Cuneta Astrodome:
8 a.m. – Adamson (12) vs Notre Dame of Midsayap (21)
9:30 a.m. – Filam Sports-USA (13) vs La Salle-Lipa (20)
11 a.m. – Camp David-New Zealand (15) vs Lyceum-Cavite (18)
2 p.m. – Hope Christian (9) vs St. Benilde-Calamba (24)
3:30 p.m. – La Salle Greenhils (2) vs Jesus the Loving Shepherd-Naga (31)

Palm Coast Marina:
9:30 a.m. – Chiang Kai Shek (3) vs St. Columban College-Pagadian (30)
11 a.m. – SHS-Ateneo de Cebu (8) vs Assumption-San Fernando (25)
2 p.m. – Malayan HS (6) vs Letran-Bataan (27)

Written By

You May Also Like

3x3 Basketball

CALATAGAN, Batangas — De La Salle University broke away from the four-team logjam for the top spot, due to its superior quotient, heading into...

3x3 Basketball

CALATAGAN, Batangas — University of the Philippines and De La Salle University emerged on top of the field after Day 1 of the UAAP...

3x3 Basketball

University of the Philippines eyes a golden double after winning last month’s men’s basketball championship in the UAAP Season 84 3×3 tournament which starts...


University of the Philippines currently parades a stacked team in Season 84 headlined by the likes of Carl Tamayo, Zavier Lucero, and Ricci Rivero....


A comeback for the ages. Facing a huge lead with a few minutes left in their season, University of the Philippines leaned on Carl...


A winless 0-14 campaign in Season 84 has finally dawned for University of the East after absorbing a 53-65 loss to Adamson University on...


Adamson University kept its slim Final Four hopes alive with a 65-53 win over University of the East in the second round of the...


National University continued to stay in the race for a UAAP Season 84 Men’s Basketball Tournament Final Four spot after emerging victorious against University...