Connect with us


Alfafara and Marasigan connect, power Cignal past Sta. Elena



Tiebreaker Times Alfafara and Marasigan connect, power Cignal past Sta. Elena News PVL Volleyball  Ysay Marasigan Vince Mangulabnan Sta. Elena Wrecking Balls Sandy Montero Saku Capate Oliver Almadro Mark Alfafara Joven Camaganakan Israel Encina Cignal HD Spikers Berlin Paglinawan Arnold Laniog 2017 PVL Season 2017 PVL Men's Open Conference

Cignal HD Spikers picked up their second win in the PVL Open Conference, frustrating the Sta. Elena Wrecking Balls in four sets, 25-22, 21-25, 25-23, 25-20, Saturday morning at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan City.

National team spiker Mark Alfafara hit 18 points all from attacks. Alfafara was loud the whole game as he kept his team motivated and upbeat during the close match.

“Yun naman ang ginagawa ni Alfafara, kahit nagkakamali, kahit yung nilalaro niya di ganun ka perfect, he really tends to keep up the talking, the communication, para mabuhay yung team,” coach Oliver Almadro said.

The HD Spikers’ team captain Ysay Marasigan and Lorenzo Capate hit double digits as well with 17 and 16 respectively.

It was a close match, as Cignal and Sta. Elena had one set apiece. The third set featured a mad Cignal head coach as they committed four straight service errors.

The Ateneo mentor said during the match, “Para tayong mga bata dito ah!” Joven Camaganakan took advantage but eventually surrendered the third set to the HD Spikers.

Come the fourth set, Sta. Elena collapsed as Cignal setter Vince Mangulabnan’s connection with Alfafara and Rex Intal continued Cignal’s rampage. Mangulabnan dished out 40 excellent sets.

Although Sta. Elena’s team captain Berlin Paglinawan paced the Wrecking Balls with 16 points, all from kills, he left the court frustrated as his team suffered their second straight loss.

Cignal and Sta. Elena will both face the Philippine Army Troopers next. Cignal’s game will be on July 12, while Sta’ Elena’s will be on the 16th.

The Scores:

READ  UP lady jins edge out FEU to finish day with win

Cignal (3) – Alfafara 18, Marasigan 17, Capate 16, Torres 8, Intal 8, Mangulabnan 4, Ramos 4, Diezmo 0, Castel 0, Bononno 0, Faytaren 0, Ramos 0, Montero (L).

Sta. Elena (1) – Paglinawan 16, Camaganakan 14, Encina 13, Arda 12, Ramirez 3, Basilan 2, Orian 1, Bacani 0, Deximo 0, Almario (L), Dy (L).