Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UP set to defend Intercollegiate Badminton title

With the collegiate season upon us, the Philippine Badminton Association is hosting the second-ever SMART Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships from September 7 to 9 at Centro Atletico in Cubao, Quezon City.

This time, 12 colleges are participating in the tournament, featuring a team format with each squad represented in men’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s singles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

“Smart continues its commitment to Philippine Badminton Association (PBAD) as we support the second Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships. Together, we continue to nurture the youth as we enable them to pursue their passions such as sports,” said Melvin C. Nubla, SMART Communications FVP for Go-To-Market.

The competing teams will be divided into four groups, with defending champion University of the Philippines placed alongside UAAP rivals Adamson University and University of Santo Tomas in Group A.

Group B will consist of last tournament’s finalist San Beda University, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and Technological University of the Philippines, while Group C will include College of Saint Benilde, Lyceum of the Philippines University, and Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

Ateneo de Manila University, whose women’s team clinched the UAAP Season 85 championship, is grouped with archrival De La Salle University and Mapua University.

“Through the second-ever Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships, we’re not just competing; we’re crafting champions. This tournament is a crucible that molds our collegiate athletes, tempering them to perfection for their upcoming seasons,” said Carla Lizardo-Sulit of PBAD, a former shuttler for Ateneo.

For project director Imee Moreno, the Intercollegiate Championships is another avenue for the Filipino shuttler to continuously have competition outside of their mother leagues.

#ReadMore  Wilson finishes with first-ever VisMin triple-double as Clarin demolishes Iligan

“The Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships serve as a testament to our dedication in providing collegiate athletes with a sustainable circuit to compete in. We believe in nurturing their talents and fostering a strong sense of sportsmanship, creating a brighter future for our young badminton stars,” said Moreno.

Written By

You May Also Like


Ateneo de Manila University had a chance for payback against then six-time UAAP men’s badminton champion National University in Season 85, but the latter...


After Chanelle Lunod propelled the Ateneo de Manila University women’s badminton to three-peat glory, an air of wonder enveloped the Blue Eagles as they...


Ateneo de Manila University broke through with a four-peat in style and it is at the expense of rival University of the Philippines. Mika...


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


Ateneo de Manila University extended its winning streak to 22 after successfully fending off the challenge from University of Santo Tomas with a 3-1...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...


ATENEO de Manila University extended its winning streak to 22 games by defeating rival University of the Philippines 3-2 at the close of the...


The longest active winning streak in the UAAP has been broken. Ateneo de Manila University halted the run of the reigning seven-time UAAP Men’s...