Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2019 SEA Games

Team Pilipinas to be hailed as SMC-PSA Athlete of the Year

Count on the Filipino athletes to deliver when the going gets tough.

Amid the distractions and doubts hovering over Team Philippines’ preparations and campaign for the 30th Southeast Asian Games, the Filipinos remained poised and kept their focus on the task at hand, resulting in one of the most inspiring moments in the history of Philippine sports.

In record fashion, the 1,115-strong Philippine bets delivered a total of 149 gold, 117 silver, and 121 bronze medals out of the 56 sports played in the entire duration of the 11-day competitions, held in three major clusters within Luzon.

The numbers were the highest-ever tallied by the country since it began competing in the biennial meet in 1977; and more than enough to clinch for the host the SEA Games overall championship just for the second time in 42 long years.

For that momentous feat in a December to remember, Team Philippines will be been bestowed with the 2019 Athlete of the Year award in the coming SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Annual Awards Night.

The traditional gala honoring the top sports heroes and heroines of the year just passed is set on March 6 at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel; and is presented by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), MILO, Cignal TV, and the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

This is the second time the country’s oldest media organization is recognizing the entire Team Philippines as its Athlete of the Year awardee. The first time was in 2005, when the Filipinos first won the overall title of the biennial meet, also staged on local soil.

#ReadMore  PH sailing ends drought, wins SEAG gold

Olympic silver medal winner Hidilyn Diaz and Asian Games golden girls Margielyn Didal Bianca Pagdanganan, and Lois Kaye Go — all recipients of the Athlete of the Year honor in 2018 — are but some of the prominent gold medalists for Team Philippines in the SEA Games; along with world champions Carlos Yulo and Nesthy Petecio, and Tokyo Olympic-bound pole vaulter Ernest John Obienna, among others.

“The choice of Team Philippines as 2019 PSA Athlete of the Year has never been as unanimous. And it was felt the least the PSA can do to honor the men and women who brought singular distinction to the country during the 30th SEA Games is to give them one resounding, united vote,” said PSA president Eriberto ‘Tito” Talao of the Manila Bulletin.

The Athlete of the Year is the highest honor solely given by the PSA, which was first established in 1949 and composed of editors and sportswriters from the different broadsheets, tabloids, and sports websites.

The country sportswriting fraternity will be handing out trophies for the President’s Award, Executive of the Year, and the National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year.

There are also awards for Ms. Basketball, Mr. Volleyball, Ms. Golf, Mr. Football, and Coach of the Year.

There will also be recipients of Major Awards, Lifetime Achievement Award, Tony Siddayao Awards, MILO Junior Athletes Award, and citations to be led by the SEA Games gold medal winners.

Meanwhile, sports personalities who passed away last year will also be accorded with a posthumous recognition.

Written By

You May Also Like

2019 SEA Games

The financial books of the 30th Southeast Asian Games have been front and center of the upcoming Philippine Olympic Committee elections. Clint Aranas and...

2019 SEA Games

The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) assured that its financial report on the 30th SEA Games was on the verge of completion...

Mixed Martial Arts

ONE Strawweight World Champion Joshua “The Passion” Pacio bannered the ONE Championship stars in the recently concluded 2020 SMC-Philippine Sportswriters Association awards night last...


One of the most inspiring stories in the last Southeast Asian Games gets to be recognized with a special honor in the SMC-PSA (Philippine...

3x3 Basketball

Proving 3×3 basketball is fast gaining popularity in the country, the Philippine Men’s National Team — which earned a ticket to the Tokyo Olympics...


Two former PBA team owners, including a founding member of the league, will be remembered with a posthumous recognition in the SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters...


Rising tennis star Alex Eala leads a compact list of young, promising athletes who will have their share of center stage in the coming...

2019 SEA Games

The gold medal winners of the 30th Southeast Asian Games banner the long list of citations to be handed out during the SMC-PSA (Philippine...