Connect with us

PSL Beach Volley Day 1: Foton, Champion Infinity teams shine



The Cignal HD Spikers B Team and two teams from Foton ruled Day 1 of the Philippine Super Liga Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup Saturday at the Sands SM By The Bay, Manila.

The Cignal B duo of April Hingpit and Wensh Tiu defeated Petron XCS’ Gretchen Ho and Charo Soriano, 21-16, 21-13 in Pool B before winding up the first day of action with another victory over Accel Quantum Plus B’s Aurora Tripoli and Rochet Dela Paz, 21-12, 21-13.

The Foton Tornadoes tandem of Fiola Ceballos and Patty Orendain meanwhile asserted its might in Pool C after toppling Benaco’s Cindy Benitez and Florence Madulid, 21-9, 21-18.

The other Foton team, Hurricanes, composed of Bea Tan and Pau Soriano, also won its opener against Fille Cayetano and Alexa Micek of Petron Sprint 4T in Pool D, 21-19, 21-14.

Other teams which picked up wins on opening day are Amy’s, Giligan’s, Philips Gold, and Meralco.

In the men’s division, Champion Infinity A’s Angelo Espiritu and Nestor Molate as well as Champion Infinity B’s Marjun Alingasa and Tippy Tipgos both scored two wins to top their respective pools.

The Cignal HD A duo of Sandy Montero and Edmar Bonono were also undefeated after Day 1.

Below are the full results of Day 1.


Champion Infinity A (Espiritu/Molate) def. Perpetual Molino A (Alboro/Del Mundo), 21-18, 21-9.

Cignal HD A (Montero/Bonono) def. SM By The Bay B (T. Young/D. Young), 21-15, 21-14.

Cignal HD B (Luces/Dela Cruz) def. Perpetual Molino B (Gamat/Alona), 21-12, 21-4.

Champion Infinity B (Alingasa/Tipgos) def. IEM (Conde/Dela Calzada), 21-15, 21-13.

Cignal HD A (Montero/Bonono) def. Centerstage (Melgar/Lozada), 21-17, 21-19.

Champion Infinity A (Espiritu/Molate) def. SM By The Bay B (T. Young/D. Young), 21-12, 21-8.

Sm By The Bay A (Becaldo/Gilbuena) def. IEM (Conde/Dela Calzada), 21-17, 21-13.

Champion Infinity B (Alingasa/Tipgos) def. Cignal HD B (Luces/Dela Cruz), 21-15, 19-21, 15-13.


Amy’s (Dawson/Cortel) def. Accel Quantum Plus A (Pastor/Ygay), 21-7, 21-13.

Giligan’s (Gendrauli/Diaz) def. Cignal HD A (Cruz/Laborte), 21-15, 21-13.

Foton Hurricanes (Tan/P. Soriano) def. Petron Sprint 4T (Micek/Cayetano), 21-19, 21-14.

Foton Tornadoes (Ceballos/Orendain) def. Beneco (Benitez/Madulid), 21-9, 21-18.

Cignal HD B (Hingpit/Tiu) def. Petron XCS (Ho/C. Soriano), 21-16, 21-13.

Philips Gold (Fajardo/Abuel) def. Accel Quantum Plus A (Pastor/Ygay), 21-12, 21-16.

Meralco (Gutierrez/Brillo) def. Beneco (Benitez/Madulid), 21-11, 21-12.

Cignal HD B (Hingpit/Tiu) def. Accel Quantum Plus B (Tripoli/Dela Paz), 21-12, 21-13.

Standings after Day 1


Pool A

Champion Infinity A 2-0
Cignal HD A 2-0
Perpetual Molino A 0-1
Centerstage 0-1
SM By The Bay B 0-2

Pool B

Champion Infinity B 2-0
SM By The Bay A 1-0
Cignal HD B 1-1
Perpetual Molino B 0-1
IEM 0-2


Pool A

Philips Gold 1-0
Amy’s 1-0
Accel Quantum Plus A 0-2

Pool B

Cignal HD B 2-0
Petron XCS 0-1
Accel Quantum Plus B 0-1

Pool C

Foton Tornadoes 1-0
Meralco 1-0
Beneco 0-2

Pool D

Foton Hurricanes 1-0
Giligan’s 1-0
Cignal HD A 0-1
Petron Sprint 4T 0-1

Click to comment