Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


MPBL: Aaron Jeruta delivers as Bacoor demolishes Marikina

Bacoor showed newfound power with a 75-55 demolition of Marikina late Monday and shared the lead with six others in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season at the Strike Gymnasium.

Spearheaded by Aaron Jeruta, the Strikers pulled away, 67-40, before cruising to their second straight win that pushed them in the company of early winners Batangas City Embassy Chill and Zamboanga Family’s Brand Sardines and idle teams Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan and Quezon Province.

Batangas was ruthless in a 104-55 dumping of Valenzuela XUR Homes Realty Inc., while Zamboanga followed suit with a 77-66 beating of Pasay Voyagers.

The Jaro, Iloilo-born Jeruta, a former Centro Escolar University standout, fired 19 points to go with 8 rebounds, 6 assists, and 2 steals and was named the best player in the nightcap of a triple-bill.

Jeruta was supported by Kraniel Victoria, formerly of the Arellano Univeristy Chiefs, and Chito Jayme with 10 points each, and Mark Yee and Alwyn Alday with 7 points each.

Jayme became the 15th member of the MPBL 1000-point club and was given the ball he scored it with by MPBL Commissioner Kenneth Duremdes.

Yee, on the other hand, snagged 11 rebounds as the Strikers, now under coach Alex Angeles, ruled the boards, 60-53.

Marikina fell to 1-1 despite the 19-point, 12-rebound effort of Jason Opiso as the rest of the Shoemasters cooled down after storming to a 9-0 start.

Zamboanga, out to prove that its capture of last month’s 2023 MPBL Preseason Invitationals was no fluke, banked on reigning MVP Jaycee Marcelino and prized acquisition Dexter Maiquez to pull away at 60-41 and handed Pasay its second straight defeat.

#ReadMore  Mark Yee takes charge as Davao Occidental ekes out win over Pasig in MPBL

Marcelino posted 17 points, 8 assists, 5 rebounds, 3 steals and 1 block to edge Maiquez, who tallied 16 points, 10 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 blocks, for best player honors.

Other contributors for Zamboanga were Judel Fuentes, Jayvee Marcelino and Chris Dumapig with 8 points each. Dumapig also pulled down 8 rebounds as Zamboanga routed Pasay underneath, 52-36.
Pasay got 15 points from Laurenz Paul Victoria, 12 from Branrey Bienes and 11 from Dhon Reverente.

Batangas, the 2018 MPBL inaugural Rajah Cup champion, was led by Mark Justin Dela Virgen with 15 points, John Rey Villanueva with 14, Levi Hernandez with 13, Jeckster Apinan with 11 and John Ambulodto with 10 in posting the biggest winning margin thus far in the 29-team tournament.

Johnnel Rey Bauzon was the lone bright spot for Valenzuela, which dropped to 0-2, with 14 points and 12 rebounds.

Written By

You May Also Like


The Davao Occidental Tigers have announced their return to the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) after a two-year absence. The Tigers, who clinched the...


Pampanga withstood the best Bacoor could offer and emerged victorious, securing the 2023 MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season national crown at the...


A day after missing out on his last-ever game with Colegio de San Juan de Letran, a suddenly-healthy Kurt Reyson showed out for Pampanga....


Bacoor City weathered Batangas City Embassy Chill’s third-quarter surge to prevail, 54-49, on Friday and capture the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) South Division...


Pampanga surged into full throttle as San Juan faltered late on Tuesday, allowing the Giant Lanterns to secure the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League)...


Kyt Jimenez is now on the verge of realizing his dreams. The flamboyant 5-foot-11 guard has been activated by San Miguel ahead of its...


Bacoor delivered a powerful performance on all fronts, overpowering Batangas City Embassy Chill 89-68 on Monday in Game 1 of the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas...


Pampanga weathered San Juan’s final assault to prevail 86-82 in Game 1 of their MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season North Division Finals...