Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]

CSB, Perpetual keep winning streaks alive



Last year’s semifinalists, De La Salle College of Saint Benilde Blazers and University of Perpetual Help System DALTA Altas, upended Lyceum of the Philippines University Pirates and Arellano University Chiefs, respectively, to remain undefeated in the tournament, Tuesday at the FilOil Flying V Arena, San Juan City.

In the day’s curtain raiser, the Blazers shook off their second-set setback to carve a four-set victory, 25-20 17-25 25-22 25-20, against the Pirates. The match was a tight contest with CSB getting slight advantage on attacks, 52-48. Lyceum made up the deficit with blocks, 8-6; however, they committed three more errors that were enough for the Blazers to eke out the win. CSB Team Captain and National Team stalwart Johnvic De Guzman led his team with 21 points, 17 from attacks. Outside hitters Racmade Etrone and Isaah Arda combined for 25 points for the Blazers. Aram Abrencillo paced the Pirates with 18 markers.

The scores:

CSB (3) – De Guzman 21, Arda 14, Etrone 11, Orian 9, Jordan 6, Deximo 0, Garcia 0, Coming 0, Magsino 0, Dy (L), Amparo (L)

LPU (1) – Abrencillo 18, Presnede 13, Badua 12, Donsao 5, Pecana 4, Dulce 4, Ganilla 3, Uy Corral 0, Jalandoni 0, Managa 0, Rubio (L), Calvo (L)

Philippine Sports News - Tiebreaker Times CSB, Perpetual keep winning streaks alive

To close out the match day, the Altas pulled through in straight sets against the Chiefs, 25-21 26-24 25-22, to claim their third straight win. All of the sets started close, before the Altas pulled away the respective sets. Perpetual dominated on attacks with 46, against the Chiefs’ 36. Arellano kept it close on blocking, despite their height disadvantage, 8-9. Team Captain Bonjomar Castel and high-flying outside hitter Rey Taneo Jr. led the Altas with 13 points each. Dean Abcede had 12 markers to round up the top scorers for Perpetual. John Capillan carried the fight for Arellano with 17 points.

The scores:

UPHSD (3) – Castel 13, Taneo 13, Abcede 12, Sala-an 9, Doliente 5, Catipay 3, Ytorzaita 1, Ramos 1, Kasim 0, Kalingking (L)

AU (0) – Capillan 17, Aliyacyac 10, Sarino 5, Del Espirito 5, Liberato 3, Soriano 3, Latip 1, Santo 1, Segovia 1, K. Arellano 0, Dela Cruz (L), T. Arellano (L)



Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.