Connect with us

Champion Infinity, SM By The Bay to clash in Men’s Beach Volleyball Finale



In the third Saturday of the ongoing 2015 PSL Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup presented by Smart Live More, Champion Infinity B and SM By The Bay A took care of business in their respective semifinal games to advance to the championship round of the tournament held at at SM Sands By The Bay.

In the first semis bracket, Champion B overcame a slow start to shrug off Cignal HD Spikers A and wrap it up in three intensely-played sets, 21-23, 22-20, 15-10. Cignal’s Sandy Montero and Edmar Bonono jumped to a 7-0 start in the first frame that pretty much dictated their win despite Champion’s duo managing to tie the set at 20 late in the canto. In the next set, Marjun Alingasa and Loujie Tigpos made the necessary adjustments and come up with their own close set win. By the deciding set, momentum was still on Champion B’s side as they were able to lead for the whole race-to-15 set and eventually take the first finals seat.

In the next game, SM By The Bay A breezed through their match against Centerstage, 21-13, 21-16 to complete the finale for the Men’s Division. In both sets, the tandem of Jade Becaldo and Hack Gilbuena went scorching over Centerstage’s Rence Melgar and John Carlo Lozada to score a wire-to-wire win and in a dominating fashion.

In the classification games before the semis matches, Cignal HD Spikers B(Luces/Dela Cruz) landed 5th as they defeated Champion Infinity A(Espiritu/Molate), 21-17, 15-21, 16-14. IEM(Conde/Dela Calzada) grabs 7th spot as they beat Perpetual Molino A(Alburo/Del Mundo), 21-16, 21-8 while Perpetual Molino B(Gamat/Alona) takes 9th after winning by default over SM By the Bay B(T. Young/D. Young)

Click to comment