Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


All Ateneo student-athletes to be called Blue Eagles

Ateneo de Manila University has released a memo on Thursday, stating that all varsity teams of the school, regardless of age group or gender, will now be called Blue Eagles.

Prior to this declaration, the men’s teams were called Blue Eagles while the women’s squads were Lady Eagles.

According to the university, “this is a significant shift in the overall branding of Ateneo’s athletics program, as it unites all of the University’s sports teams regardless of sport, gender, or age group.”

“It is a recognition of the fact that each of our student-athletes, whatever their sport or year level, represents the mens sana in corpore sano (sound mind in a sound body) ideal: excelling in the classroom and in the sporting arena, hallmarks of well-rounded Ateneo education and formation,” said Ateneo president Fr. Roberto Yap, SJ.

Back in 2013, the school’s University Athletic Office made an initiative to remove the sport-based monicker of their varsity teams (i.e. Blue Judokas, Blue Batters), calling them either Blue or Lady Eagles.

Same with the varsity teams of Ateneo High School, who were previously known as the Blue Eaglets.UAAP-S82-BBT-ADMU-vs-FEU-2-ADMU-LOPEZ All Ateneo student-athletes to be called Blue Eagles ADMU News UAAP  - philippine sports news

“We will further solidify and strengthen the ‘One Ateneo’ spirit, bringing together our community not only in sports but in our shared mission to be a force for good in the world,” added Yap.

#ReadMore  Who are Kai's and Jalen's teammates Isaiah Todd and Daishen Nix?
Written By

You May Also Like


ECHO roamer Tristan “Yawi” Cabrera is heading into the Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League-Philippines Season 10 with extra motivation. After all, his ‘good...


For 18 years, Mike Phillips was in the U.S. He grew up an American. He learned to play ball as an American. In 2019,...


Euphoria reached its fever pitch inside the SM Mall of Asia Arena last June 21 as National University ended its 65-year title drought in...

2022 VNL Season

Mhicaela Belen is a history maker, becoming the first-ever rookie MVP in UAAP women’s volleyball history. She has also led National University to its...


Despite falling short of the championship, De La Salle University Leiah Malaluan was satisfied with her first year repping the green and white in...


UAAP Season 84 was full of uncertainties for De La Salle University. After failing to enter the Finals for the first time in 11...


Having a winning high school program doesn’t necessarily guarantee a winning collegiate team, once the juniors turn into seniors. The National University Lady Bulldogs...


Tuesday evening was momentous for National University. Its straight-set win over De La Salle University in Game Two of the Finals didn’t just end...