Connect with us


Tamaraws reassert mastery of Fighting Maroons for playoff berth



Tiebreaker Times Tamaraws reassert mastery of Fighting Maroons for playoff berth FEU News PVL UP Volleyball  UP Men's Volleyball RJ Paler Rey Diaz Owen Suarez Nicolo Consuelo Mac Millete JP Bugaoan Joshua Barrica Hans Chuacuco FEU Men's Volleyball 2018 PVL Season 2018 PVL Men's Collegiate Conference

When they badly needed to deliver, JP Bugaoan and the Far Eastern University Tamaraws pulled through in the end.

The Morayta-based squad subdued and outlasted old rivals University of the Philippines in an intense five-set battle, 25-21, 22-25, 22-25, 25-17, 15-11, to send themselves into a playoff match for the remaining semifinals slot of the 2018 Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference, Sunday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Tamaraws lorded it over the net, stopping one of the league’s top attacking team, with 15 rejections. Bugaoan paced the squad in this department with four, with captain RJ Paler also ending up with the same number.

FEU head coach Rey Diaz has reminded his wards after that third set loss of the reason they were here at the PVL conference. He shared, “Ang natatandaan kong sinabi ko, ‘Patunayan niyong deserving kayong magsuot ng FEU uniform at deserving tayo sa league na ‘to.”

With such rousing response, the young Tamaraws just went to basics and converted in transition to ultimately put an end to the match with Bugaoan finishing the match with his 20th point. Diaz said, “Napakaganda ring laban yung binigay ng UP — natutunan nila kung paano kumapit sa crunch time.”


The Tamaraws (5-4) will take on the College of Saint Benilde Blazers (5-4) on Wednesday, August 29.

League top scorer Mac Millete finished his stint in the conference off with 28 huge points, but it was not enough for the Fighting Maroons, who finished in sixth place in the tourney.

READ  SOURCES: Myla Pablo released by Pocari Sweat, seeks new team

The Scores:

FEU 3 – Bugaoan 20, Paler 13, Calado 10, Quiel 10, Calado 10, De Asis 7, Laganina 2, Fernandez 1, Silang 0, Suarez 0, Salbasab 0, Barrica L, Lorenzo L.

UP 2 – Millete 28, Consuelo 15, Gohoc 10, Castillo 8, San Pascual 4, Baldelovar 2, San Pedro 2, Enteria 0, Membreve 0, Nasol L.