Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Pocari Sweat bucks slow start against UP to give De Guzman debut win

Fresh from a championship in the Reinforced Conference, the Pocari Sweat Lady Warriors opened their title defense bid with a four set triumph over the rebuilding University of the Philippines Lady Maroons, 21-25, 25-20, 25-18, 25-21, Sunday evening at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Last conference’s Finals MVP, Myla Pablo, led the charts once again with 18 points, 16 coming from attacks. Supporting her were Elaine Kasilag with 15 points and Kai Nepomuceno with 10 points.

“Kakayanin kong i-angat at madala sa finals uli ang Pocari. Natutuwa ako sa team, tinanggap nila ako bilang head coach at lahat ng tinuturo ko sinusunod nila. Wala namang pagbabago sa team ngayon, bukod sa former Head Coach Rommel Abella, hindi naman ako nahirapan hawakan ang team ngayon,” said debuting Pocari Sweat head coach Rommel Abella.

It was a neck-and-neck battle all game long, as the two teams would exchange leads and break deadlocks. But come the fourth set, Pocari started to lead up to five points, 15-10. Tots Carlos and Justine Dorog tried to neutralize the Lady Warriors with their attacks and came within 22-20, but Kasilag and Pablo silenced their young opponents to finish the match.

De Guzman is off to a good start with the Pocari Sweat Lady Warriors, and says they will work on polishing the girls’ reception more.

“Aaminin ko naman, sa first ball nahihirapan. Kahit nakaraang conference. Yun ang gusto kong baguhin sa kanila. Gusto ko ma-improve first ball nila. Kailangan lang mapaganda yung blocking at atakeng maganda.”

Tots Carlos led UP with 21 points, while Isa Molde chipped in 13 markers.

#ReadMore  Rebisco-PH blasts Fine Chef, keeps playoff hopes alive in Sealect Open

Pocari Sweat will next face Perlas-BanKo on Wednesday, July 5, at 4:00pm. The Lady Maroons, on the other hand, take on the Bali Pure Purest Water Defenders on Saturday, July 8. – By: Danine Cruz

The Scores:

Pocari Sweat (3) – Pablo 18, Kasilag 15, Nepomuceno 10, Panaga 8, Dadang 7, De Leon 4, Sy 3, Gohing (L) 2, Paran 1, Valdez 0, Cayetano 0, Doromal 0, Serafica 0.

UP (1) – Carlos 21, Molde 13, Dorog 9, Ramos 8, Layug 6, Gannaban 5, Cailing 1, Estranero 1, Rosier 0, Basarte 0, Sandoval 0, Alinas (L)

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Isa Molde will not be making a return to PLDT once the 2022 season of the Premier Volleyball League rolls around early next year....


Petro Gazz received a much-needed confidence booster in the ongoing Philippine National Volleyball Federation Champions League. On Sunday night, the Angels came back from...


Petro Gazz gutted out a five-set thriller over Chery Tiggo, 22-25, 25-20, 21-25, 25-21, 15-11, to end the second day of the Philippine National...


Chery Tiggo has tapped three players that will help boost their title retention bid come the 2022 Premier Volleyball League season. The Crossovers have...


ILOCOS NORTE — Jaja Santiago of Chery Tiggo was crowned as both the 2021 Premier Volleyball League Open Conference and Finals Most Valuable Player,...


ILOCOS NORTE – Chery Tiggo crowned itself the country’s first pro volley champion, shocking Creamline with a gem of a fightback, 23-25, 20-25, 25-21,...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Jaja Santiago made sure that Chery Tiggo will live to fight another day. The hard-hitting Santiago unleashed a monster performance...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Petro Gazz clinched bronze in the Premier Volleyball League Open Conference after taking Game Two against Choco Mucho 25-20, 25-18,...