Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Vergel Meneses to serve as PBA Press Corps Awards’ guest of honor

One of the 25 greatest players in league history who successfully transitioned to public service serves as the special guest of honor in the 2022 PBA Press Corps Awards Night tonight at Novotel Manila Araneta City.

Re-elected Bulakan, Bulacan mayor Vergel Meneses will grace the event and reacquaint with his PBA family while coming off fresh from earning a second term as mayor of one of the province’s first-class municipalities.

In the affair, the 53-year-old will also personally receive the President’s Award handed out to him by the group regularly covering the PBA beat during its virtual staging of the awards meet held last year.

Meneses was recognized with the said award in celebration of the 25th anniversary of him winning Most Valuable Player honors and then serving his first term as mayor back in 2019.

The 6-foot-2 Meneses, a product of Jose Rizal University, was a three-time champion, two of which he won back in 1995 during his MVP season while playing for the RFM franchise.

He was a three-time Best Player of the Conference awardee, a two-time Mythical First Team member, a four-time All-Star MVP, an 11-time All-Star, a two-time slam dunk champion, and was the Most Improved Player in 1993.

The no. 1 overall pick in the 1992 draft, the man they called ‘Aerial Voyager’ was voted part of the PBA’s 25 Greatest Players in 2000 when the league celebrated its silver anniversary.

Meneses suited up for Presto, Sta. Lucia, Swift, Pop Cola, Barangay Ginebra, FedEx, Barako Bull, and Talk ‘N Text in a 14-year pro career.

#ReadMore  Adrian Wong's triple saves Rain or Shine from record of futility

A many-time national team player, he later went into coaching and called the shots for his alma mater for almost a decade.

Meneses will join the celebration honoring the top performers of Season 46, bannered by Chot Reyes and Alfrancis Chua as they are the recipients of the Coach of the Year and Executive of the Year awards, respectively.

Among the awardees are Arwind Santos (Defensive Player of the Year), June Mar Fajardo (Bogs Adornado Comeback Player of the Year), Allein Maliksi (Mr. Quality Minutes), and Mikey Williams (Scoring Champion).

Williams, Jamie Malonzo, Santi Santillan, Calvin Oftana, and Joshua Munzon will be feted as part of the All-Rookie team, while the Order of Merit will be given also to Williams, Robert Bolick, Ian Sangalang, Matthew Wright.

To be feted as the Game of the Season is the Philippine Cup quarterfinal opener between San Miguel and NorthPort held at the Bacolor bubble.

Written By

You May Also Like


Kevin Murphy will be heading to Jeddah. On Tuesday, it was announced that the 6-foot-6 import has signed with Al-Ittihad.   Tingnan ang post...


Meralco head coach Norman Black only has immense gratitude to his coaching staff and the entire team for holding the fort during his absence,...

3x3 Basketball

TNT mainstays Samboy De Leon and Lervin Flores are out to maximize the opportunity of a lifetime after being called up by Gilas Pilipinas...

3x3 Basketball

The goal is to make it back to the 5-on-5 competitions, but Joseph Eriobu never expected that playing in the PBA 3×3 would open...

3x3 Basketball

It’s an invitation he won’t ever say no to. Almond Vosotros feels honored to be called up by Gilas Pilipinas once again as he...

3x3 Basketball

Gryann Mendoza was all set to throw in the towel when TNT fell down big to Purefoods in the PBA 3×3 Third Conference Grand...

3x3 Basketball

Two of PBA 3×3’s best are set to slug it out for Third Conference kingship as rivals TNT and Purefoods meet yet again after...

3x3 Basketball

Limitless App outlasted the much younger CAVITEX in overtime, 22-19, to sweep its way to the PBA 3×3 Third Conference Grand Finals’ knockout stages,...