Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UP gains momentum heading to UAAP, scores Intercol back-to-back

University of the Philippines secured back-to-back titles in rousing fashion, sweeping all its assignments in the 2nd SMART Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships on Saturday at the Centro Atletico Badminton Center in Quezon City.

The Fighting Maroons duplicated their dominance from last year with a 3-0 sweep of San Sebastian College-Recoletos, with Michael Clemente and JM Bernardo delivering the finishing blow in this tournament backed by the Philippine Badminton Association and sponsored by A2Z Customs.

The now two-time champions UP captured the champion’s trophy, gold medals, and the P50,000 cash prize.2nd-Badminton-Intercol-UP-Melvin-Llanes UP gains momentum heading to UAAP, scores Intercol back-to-back Badminton News SSC-R UP  - philippine sports news

“Nung nagkaroon nga nitong second Intercollegiate, gusto ko talagang mag-champion uli, kaya masaya kami na nakuha namin,” head coach Melvin Llanes said.

“Yung mag-champion mahirap na, yung ma-defend pa kaya? Tingin ko, maging morale booster to para sa UAAP.'”

The two seniors shook off the challenge of Golden Stags’ Jefferson Oba-ob and Ray Angelo Pedron in the closely fought second game to end the men’s doubles rubber and the tie, 21-13, 21-18.

The clinical victory began earlier with UP’s sophomores and UAAP Season 85 Rookies of the Year, Jelo Albo and Anthea Gonzalez, showcasing their skills.

National team standout Albo stormed right out of the gates, defeating John Paul Barandino with a 21-9, 21-5 finish, before Gonzalez made quick work of Khea Montañez, 21-14, 21-11.

The Golden Stags rounded up their Intercollegiate debut with the first runner-up prize, silver medals, and the P20,000 cash prize.

De La Salle University and College of Saint Benilde finished as second runners-up, winning bronze medals and P10,000.

#ReadMore  DLSU Lady Spikers of all generations unite against COVID-19

Andrea Abalos, Sushmita Ramos, Jason Vanzuela, Raydric Abinales, Kimberly Lao, Tricia Opon, Kervin Llanes, and Patricia De Dios completed the squad for the Fighting Maroons.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


University of the Philippines cruised past its semifinal tussle against De La Salle University, winning 3-0, to advance to the Finals of the 2nd...


University of the Philippines opened its title defense in dramatic fashion with a 4-1 win over University of Santo Tomas in Group A of...


With the collegiate season upon us, the Philippine Badminton Association is hosting the second-ever SMART Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships from September 7 to 9...


ROS Leenard Pedrosa pulled through with a solid statement win in the quarterfinals against national juniors team standout Jamal Pandi of men’s singles in...


Top seeds and national team stalwarts Ros Leenard Pedrosa and Jewel Angelo Albo took care of their respective opening round assignments to kick off...


Chanelle Lunod steered Ateneo de Manila University for one last time, carrying the Blue Eagles to their third straight UAAP women’s badminton title after...


National University annexed a seventh straight UAAP men’s badminton championship, sweeping Ateneo de Manila University, 3-0, in the UAAP Season 85 Finals, Sunday morning...


University of the Philippines booked a return trip to the Finals after a clinical 5-0 rout of University of Santo Tomas on the final...