Connect with us


Philippine Baseball League opens first season with UAAP finals rematch



Tiebreaker Times Philippine Baseball League opens first season with UAAP finals rematch ADMU AdU DLSU News NU PBL UP UST  UST Golden Sox UP Baseball Philippine National Baseball Team Philippine Amateur Baseball Association Pepe Munoz NU Baseball DLSU Baseball Ateneo Baseball Adamson Baseball 2019 PBL Season

The Filipino baseball player will have a new avenue to showcase his talent.

The Philippine Baseball League will open its curtains on January 5 at the historic Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium. The league features seven teams – six of which are UAAP squads.

The first conference of the league, backed by the Philippine Amateur Baseball Association, will serve as the prelude to the UAAP Season 81 Baseball tourney.

“We’ll have the six UAAP teams. The seventh team will be the IPPC which will be having the national team players not playing in the UAAP,” disclosed PABA secretary-general Pepe Muñoz.

Defending UAAP Champions Adamson Soaring Falcons; the De La Salle Green Batters; the Ateneo Blue Eagles; the UST Golden Sox; the NU Bulldogs; the UP Fighting Maroon;, and IPPC have all committed to the month-long league.

The PBL is a much-needed league for the country’s batters after Baseball Philippines folded seven years ago, while the Philippine Sports Commission discontinued the Chairman’s and Commissioners’ Cup two years back.

This time around, the new officers of the PSC have pledged their full support to this new endeavor by PABA.

“One is that we have an opportunity for our players because the UAAP season is way too short. We want to give the other players an opportunity to play. The PSC will also be supporting us. This time around the one giving the resources will be PABA,” added Muñoz.

On Saturday, UST will take on UP to open the triple-header, followed by the UAAP Finals rematch between Adamson and La Salle. Closing out the day will be a match-up between IPPC and NU.

READ  Furusawa lifts Ateneo to 'ugly' win over UST

Then on Sunday, IPPC opens the day against Adamson. The Battle of Katipunan rivalry between UP and Ateneo will unfold, followed by UST versus La Salle.