Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Jawo, Paulino, Muros headline 2021 PH Sports Hall of Fame class

The Philippine Sports Hall of Fame announced the ten sports heroes selected for induction in this year’s class, Friday.

The inductees are Paulino Alcantara (Football), Eric Buhain (Swimming), Dionisio Calvo (Coach-Basketball & Football), Arianne Cerdena (Bowling), Robert Jaworski (Basketball), Gertrudes Lozada (Swimming), Elma Muros-Posadas (Athletics), Rogelio Onofre (Athletics), Leopoldo Serrantes (Boxing), and Roel Velasco (Boxing).

“It’s been a pleasure. Na-apreciate ko ang review committee, malaking tulong. Salamat sa inyong recommendation. I am glad that a new batch of people who fought for the country and sacrificed a lot will be given recognition to inspire the new generation of sports heroes,” said Games and Amusements Board chairman Baham Mitra during the election where the review committee observed proceedings.

The selection committee, by virtue of Republic Act 8757 or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act, is chaired by Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Chairman William Ramirez with Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) President Abraham Tolentino as vice chairperson.

Members are Mitra, Philippine Football Federation Secretary General Atty. Ed Gastanes and Philcycling Secretary General Atty. Billy Sumagui as NSA representatives, Philippine Olympians Association President Akiko Guevara, and UAAP Executive Director Atty. Rene Andrei Saguisag Jr as private group representatives.

Tolentino appreciated the work of the committees and thanked them “for this recognition of our sports heroes which is an inspiration to all.

Ramirez commented that the process of selection was a journey of discovery. “I would like to thank everyone for all their work. It is very enriching for me to be part of this awards” expressed the PSC chief, adding that “I am pleased with the choices of both the review and selection committees. Congratulations to all the 4th batch enshrinees!”

Enshrinees will receive P200,000 each plus the PSHOF trophy. Details of enshrinement will be announced later. The Committee is looking into holding the ceremonies earlier than the previously targeted schedule of May 29. The cash prize was doubled for this enshrinement in consideration of money valuation over time.

#ReadMore  Enjoyment, practice and belief the keys for UE veteran Sto. Domingo

Upon the deadline of nomination last January 31, the review committee buckled down to screen the nominees and submitted a shortlist to the selection committee last March 5. The shortlist served as a guide but the selection committee still went through each nominee’s credential and made their own selections which were officially finalized in a short virtual meeting and election ceremony Friday.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


The Jaworski family broke its silence over the condition of patriarch Sonny. In a statement, the family has requested for continued prayers and well-wishes...


Tim Cone once again made history on Wednesday evening. Besides winning his 23rd PBA championship in the form of the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup,...


SMART CLARK GIGA CITY — Scottie Thompson has long established himself as one of the best rebounders in the PBA today, and he proved...


Barangay Ginebra head coach Tim Cone was in total awe upon learning that the Gin Kings’ 4-0 start in the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup...

Mixed Martial Arts

Rene “The Challenger” Catalan is known as one of the most successful wushu practitioners in the Philippines.  With World Titles in the Wushu World...

2019 SEA Games

BULACAN — The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee delivered on its promise of a “world-class” show as the 30th SEA Games formally opened...


Bal David, Vince Hizon, Noli Locsin, Marlou Aquino, Pido Jarencio, Benny Cheng, Jayvee Gayoso, and Wilmer Ong. They were the core of the Gordon’s...


There’s this possibility that “Jawo” will suit up for Barangay Ginebra soon. The Living Legend himself, former Senator Robert Jaworski said that he will...