Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Intercollegiate Badminton: San Beda, UP arrange title clash

University of the Philippines and San Beda University arranged a final showdown in the inaugural SMART Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships after completing respective group sweeps, Sunday morning at the Centro Athletico Badminton Courts in Quezon City.

The Fighting Maroons took care of the all-UAAP Group A after a dominant 5-0 sweep of University of Santo Tomas to go into the winner-take-all tie later in the afternoon.
Freshman Kervin Llanes fended off the challenge of Golden Shuttler Lennox Cuilao in three sets, 21-14, 18-21, 21-12, in the men’s singles match to set the tone for the tie for the Fighting Maroons.

Fellow rookie Anthea Gonzalez followed it up with a 21-6, 21-5 crushing of Charlize Belen in the women’s singles rubber before super seniors Michael Clemente and Paul Gonzales closed out the tie once more in the men’s doubles. Clemente and Gonzales needed to shake off Francis Sarmiento and Lanz Ramirez, 21-17, 21-19.

Despite an exchange in pairings, the Fighting Maroons still took the women’s and mixed doubles matches to complete the rout.

Susmita Ramos and Althea Fuentespina took care of Elij Pena and Jennifer Saldaga, 21-15, 21-14, in the women’s side, while Jason Vanzuela and Lea Inlayo waylaid Rhafi Santos and Ron Jacob Galve, 21-15, 21-13.

On the other hand, the Red Shuttlers took down Polytechnic University of the Philippines, 4-1, to join UP in the championship tie.

Julie Gimena and Ianah Belen wrapped up the tie in the fourth match — women’s doubles — against Jermae and Angel Esto, 23-21, 21-5. This after Mary Joy Arizara of PUP took one back for the Mighty Maroons in the women’s singles match over Anniena Cruz of San Beda, 21-12, 21-18.

#ReadMore  Chot Reyes says Gilas' turnover woes was product of lack of familiarity

In the other matches, Ateneo de Manila University sealed the runner-up finish in Group A after sweeping Adamson University, 5-0, while Technological University of the Philippines outlasted Rizal Technological University, 3-2.

Arthur Salvado and Lynden Laborte put the Blue Eagles for a bronze medal finish with a sweet 21-15, 21-15 rout of Adamson’s Noel Hernandez and Gabrielle Ganoy in the men’s doubles match.

On the other hand, Joanna Dumapit and Derothy Mella sealed one win for TUP to close its campaign, winning over RTU’s Lowella Navarro and Andrea Paurillo in their women’s doubles battle.

Ateneo and PUP ended up as co-bronze medallists as UP and San Beda will dispute the title later in the afternoon at 1 p.m.

This tournament is organized by the Philippine Badminton Association, powered by SMART Communications, and supported by the MVP Sports Foundation, Ducksports, Young, and Apacs.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


Saints and Lattes-Letran grabbed the final quarterfinals seat in Pool C after dominating Philippine Coast Guard, 25-18, 25-6, 25-21, on the final day of...


Ateneo de Manila University had a chance for payback against then six-time UAAP men’s badminton champion National University in Season 85, but the latter...


After Chanelle Lunod propelled the Ateneo de Manila University women’s badminton to three-peat glory, an air of wonder enveloped the Blue Eagles as they...


Ateneo de Manila University broke through with a four-peat in style and it is at the expense of rival University of the Philippines. Mika...


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


PGJC-Navy scrambled for stability in the first three sets before having its way in the fourth to deal Savouge RTU Basilan its first loss...


Ateneo de Manila University extended its winning streak to 22 after successfully fending off the challenge from University of Santo Tomas with a 3-1...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...