Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Photo from The Azkals


Azkals drawn with SGP, MMR, THA in Suzuki Cup

The Philippine Azkals are set to face old foes in the group stage of the 2021 AFF Suzuki Cup.

The Philippines was drawn to Group A, where it shall face the likes of Singapore, Myanmar, Thailand, and the winner of the single-leg qualifying match between Brunei Darussalam and Timor Leste, in a virtual lottery held on Tuesday.

“The draw doesn’t really matter as we still need to beat the best teams to win the Suzuki Cup. Hopefully, we get the best players available even though the tournament is outside the FIFA international window,” commented long-time Azkals team manager Dan Palami.

Thailand and Singapore are the two most successful nations in the tournament with five and four championships respectively.

The Azkals have faced both nations in the semi-finals of previous editions and came out on the losing side on those occasions.

On the other hand, the Philippines last won against Myanmar during a February 2013 friendly courtesy of a 78th minute OJ Porteria strike. Beforehand, the two teams faced off in the group stage of the 2012 edition of the Suzuki Cup, which saw the Filipinos emerge victorious with a 2-0 result thanks to goals from Phil Younghusband and Angel Guirado.

When it comes to the nations competing in the play-off, the Philippines secured a tight 3-2 away victory against Timor Leste when they faced each other back in the 2018 group stage.

The Philippines last competed against Brunei back in 2008 in a 1-1 stalemate as part of the qualification phase of the competition.

Inversely, Group B will consist of Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, Cambodia, and Laos. The top two teams of each group will advance to the semi-finals.

#ReadMore  B.League: Juan GDL plays just one minute as Tokyo Z dealt 30-point rout by Yamagata

The Philippines hopes to make it to the finals for the first time in the competition’s history after four semi-final appearances in 2010, 2012, 2014, and 2018.

The competition is set to be held from December 5, 2021, until January 1, 2022, within a centralized venue, which will be announced down the line.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Parañaque maintained its unbeaten run after blasting Pacific Water by 41, 76-35, in the Pia Cayetano WNBL Season 2021 at the Bren Z. Guiao...


Amateur league Filbasket bared that it only followed the advice of the Philippine Sports Commission with regards to mounting a sports bubble. PSC chairman...


Mikey Williams is in only his first-ever PBA Finals trip, yet he’s hardly shown any jitters whatsoever with the way he has been delivering...


Execution, and selflessness. Simple as that. Those two things, according to Chot Reyes, were the reasons behind TNT’s record-setting first half. It allowed the...


Filbasket has received questions for classifying itself as an amateur league. In a statement made by league founder Jai Reyes, he stressed that his...


Chot Reyes could not emphasize enough how big Kelly Williams’ presence alone was for TNT in Game Two of the PBA Philippine Cup Finals....


TNT hit a barrage of three-pointers early to bury Magnolia, 105-93, for a favorable 2-0 advantage in the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup Finals, Friday...

Beach Volleyball

SANTA ANA, Cagayan — All the three Creamline men’s teams emerged victorious in Friday’s opener of the BVR on Tour first leg here. Creamline...