Connect with us


Ateneo-Motolite musters another five-set comeback, keeps Tacloban slumping



Tiebreaker Times Ateneo-Motolite musters another five-set comeback, keeps Tacloban slumping ADMU News PVL Volleyball  Tacloban Fighting Warays Oliver Almadro Nes Pamilar Kat Tolentino Heather Guino-o Dimdim Pacres Deanna Wong Bela Peralta Bea De Leon Ateneo-Motolite Lady Eagles 2018 PVL Season 2018 PVL Open Conference

Toeing the line again, the Ateneo-Motolite Lady Eagles were able to dig deep anew, escaping the Tacloban Fighting Warays, 25-18, 19-25, 11-25, 25-17, 15-11, in the PVL Open Conference at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Lady Eagles found themselves down 1-2 again for the second straight match. Like last Sunday against Adamson, Ateneo mowed down the Fighting Warays in the fourth set to force a decider. This was their third victory in a five-set match.

After a tight start, the Lady Eagles broke away in the fifth set, taking an 9-5 lead before Tacloban mustered a 3-0 run. A string of long rallies went Ateneo’s way in the following points, giving them a 13-9 cushion. Tacloban crawled back and came within two, 13-11. Ateneo winger Kat Tolentino shut down Tacloban in the next two points, roofing Dimdim Pacres twice to cap the match.

“Like what I always say, every game is a learning game for us. We’re still trying and adjusting within the team,” said first year Lady Eagles head coach Oliver Almadro.

“The team already knows how to play, we just have to learn how to win,” the decorated men’s volleyball tactician added.

Tolentino finished with 16 points, while graduating middle blockers Bea De Leon and Maddie Madayag provided 15 and 12 markers, respectively.

New addition Pacres led Tacloban with 18 markers ,while Far Eastern University standout Heather Guino-O added 15.

Ateneo (5-1) next take on the Creamline Cool Smashers (4-1) on Sunday at the Baliwag Star Arena. Tacloban (2-4) face the Pocari Sweat Lady Warriors (3-2) on Saturday at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Scores

READ  Columbian sees Isaac Go as future Dyip leader

Ateneo-Motolie (3) – Tolentino 16, De Leon 15, Madayag 12, Gaston 6, Samonte 5, Gandler 4, Gequillana 3, Wong 3, Maraguinot 0, Peralta (L), Ravena (L)

Tacloban (2) – Pacres 18, Guino-O 15, Esguerra 14, Prado 10, Negrito 5, Delos Reyes 4, Alvarez 3, Guillema 0, Galang (L), Ibisa (L)

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.