Connect with us


Foton zooms past Cherrylume, books semis date with Petron



Tiebreaker Times Foton zooms past Cherrylume, books semis date with Petron News PSL Volleyball  Moro Branislav Mary Ann Mendrez Lerma Giron Jen Reyes Jaja Santiago Ivy Perez Foton Tornadoes EJ Laure Cherrylume Iron Lady Warriors 2017 PSL Season 2017 PSL All Filipino Conference

Top-seeded team Foton Tornadoes did not waste any time, leaving the young Cherrylume Iron Lady Warriors in the dust with a sweep, 25-22, 25-20, 25-11, Saturday evening at the Malolos Convention Center in Bulacan.

With the win, Foton set up a knockout semifinal bout against the Petron Blaze Spikers. Petron had handed Foton their sole loss in the tournament (25-20, 18-25, 21-25, 25-19, 15-11) last June 24.

Once again, it was Foton’s two aces that led the way in the game, as the towering Jaja Santiago finished with 14 points, 11 on attacks, two aces, and a kill block. UST standout Ej Laure added 13 markers, 10 on attacks and three blocks.

After a slow first set, the Tornadoes were able to rev up, capped by a rousing third set that saw Foton build an imposing 21-7 lead. A Mary Ann Mendrez kill stopped the bleeding momentarily but Foton, and numerous errors by the UE-powered squad, proved to be too much. A emphatic kill by Santiago mercifully ended the match that lasted just 69 minutes.

Mendrez paced Cherrylume with eight points, while Judith Abil added seven markers.

The Iron Lady Warriors committed a glaring 26 errors in the contest, while the Tornadoes were able to impose their size, finishing with a 9-2 advantage on blocks.

Cherrylume will face the Sta. Lucia Lady Realtors in the classification battle for fifth to eighth places on Tuesday in Imus City.

The Scores:

Foton (3) – Santiago 14, Laure 13, Ortiz 9, Rosario 7, Berte 4, Negrito 3, Torres 1, Doria 1, Guino-o 1, Perez 1, Guliman 0, Reyes (L), Yongco (L).

READ  After PVL heartbreak, Laure sisters to go all out for Foton

Cherrylume (0) – Mendrez 8, Abil 7, Gabarda 5, Rodriguez 2, Sta. Maria 2, Bendong 2, Olarve 1, Victoria 0, Santos 0, Lopez 0, Manabat 0, Catindig (L), Clavano (L).