Connect with us


Siruma saves Bulacan from meltdown, drops Caloocan to tie at eighth in MPBL North



Tiebreaker Times Siruma saves Bulacan from meltdown, drops Caloocan to tie at eighth in MPBL North Basketball MPBL News  Stephen Siruma Paul Sanga Lester Alvarez Kerwin McCoy Jovit Dela Cruz Dennis Santos Cedric Labing-isa Bulacan Kuyas 2019-2020 MPBL Lakan Cup

ANGELES, PAMPANGA — Bulacan squeaked past Caloocan-Victory Liner, 81-79, for its sixth-straight win in the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Lakan Season, Thursday at the AUF Gym.

With three final attempts to tie or win the game — Cedric Labing-isa’s layup, then follow-up, then Danny Marilao’s triple — Caloocan flunked them all, allowing the Kuyas to escape triumphantly.

Leading by just one point, Bulacan’s Stephen Siruma knocked in a three-pointer at the 42.3-second mark of the final quarter, 81-77. John Ambulodto’s putback on Labing-isa’s miss then put Caloocan within two, 79-81, with 28.1 ticks left.

“Ang intention ko talaga ay bigyan ‘yung mga bench players namin ng kumpyansa, kaya medyo nadikitan kami. Pero kailangan kasi namin mag-invest sa kanila para maging stronger ang team,” said Bulacan coach Kerwin Mccoy.

Already up 20-15, the Kuyas started the second period on a 21-6 blast to lead by 20, 41-21. But Caloocan managed to trim the deficit to 10 at halftime, 43-33, via a 12-2 counter-run.

Jovit Dela Cruz unloaded 14 points, seven rebounds, four assists, and three steals, helping the Kuyas up their record to 18-8 at fourth seed in the North.

Dennis Santos and Lester Alvarez contributed 13 markers apiece for Bulacan. Meanwhile, JR Taganas missed an unusual double-double with 15 rebounds and nine assists to go with his two markers.

Labing-isa and Paul Sanga registered game-highs in points with 21 each for Caloocan.

The loss allowed the Supremos drop to 14-12, tied with Pasay Voyagers for the eight spot in the same Northern division.

READ  Paul Sanga goes zero to hero in crucial MPBL tilt for Caloocan

The Scores:

Bulacan 81 – Dela Cruz 14, Alvarez 13, Santos 13, Escocio 11, Siruma 11, Alabanza 7, Diputado 6, Arim 3, Taganas 2, Nermal 1, De Mesa 0, Antipuesto 0.

Caloocan-Victory Liner 79 – Sanga 21, Labing-isa 21, Ambulodto 11, Escalambre 8, Tongco 7, Sarangay 6, Marilao 5, Cervantes 0, Lasco 0, Gonzales 0.

Quarterscores: 20-15, 43-33, 65-60, 81-79.

Story by Justin Valencia
Photo by Nicks Hernandez