Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Jazul named PBA Mr. Quality Minutes as ‘Scottie Brownlee game’ hailed Game of the Year

RJ Jazul and the thrilling Philippine Cup bubble Game Five semifinals match between Barangay Ginebra and Meralco will have their share of the limelight in the coming PBA Press Corps virtual Awards Night.

Jazul, 34, and team captain of the Fuel Masters, is named Mr. Quality Minutes for his immense contributions coming off the bench, while the Kings’ 83-80 victory over the Bolts in their do-or-die match is the unanimous choice as the Game of the Bubble by the men and women who regularly cover the PBA beat.

The two-in-one awards night that will also have the 2019 awardees being recognized, is set on March 7 at the TV5 Media Center and presented by Cignal TV.

The 5-foot-11 Jazul averaged 11.0 points, 2.3 rebounds, and 2.1 assists in 17 games during the lone conference last season. He registered a career-high 33 points, spiked by nine three-pointers, in the Fuel Masters’ 110-101 win over erstwhile five-time Philippine Cup champion San Miguel Beer to clinch a berth in the quarterfinals.PBA-Season-45-Meralco-vs-Ginebra-Scottie-Thompson-game-winner Jazul named PBA Mr. Quality Minutes as 'Scottie Brownlee game' hailed Game of the Year Basketball News PBA  - philippine sports news

The Kings, seeded as the no.1 team, also made their presence felt following their hard-earned win over the fifth-seeded Bolts, highlighted by Scottie Thompson’s clutch three-pointer at the buzzer to clinch a berth in the best-of-seven finals.

Jazul and the Barangay Ginebra-Meralco game are part of the distinct bubble awards to be handed out in the event to be shown on PBA Rush on March 8.

Earlier announced as part of the honor roll list are CJ Perez (Scoring Champion) and the All-Rookie Team (Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido).

#ReadMore  Bugaoan, Solis hungry to add to FEU's championship tradition

Still to be named are the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble, Mr. Executive, President’s Award, Top Bubble D-Fender, the All Bubble D-Fenders, and a special citation.

Meanwhile, 2019 Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year Leo Austria of San Miguel and Danny Floro Executive of the Year PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas lead the honorees of the previous season that also include Presidential Awardee Vergel Meneses, mayor of Bulakan, Bulacan and one of the PBA’s 25 Greatest Players, and Defensive Player of the Year Sean Anthony of NorthPort.

Completing the 2019 batch of honorees are NorthPort vs. NLEX (Game of the Season), CJ Perez, Robert Bolick, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Javee Mocon, and Abu Tratter (All-Rookie Team), Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, and coach Yeng Guiao (All-Interview Team), and PBA D-League Finals MVPs Thirdy Ravena (Aspirants’ Cup) and Hesed Gabo (Foundation Cup).

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Ken Holmqvist wants to honor his mother when he steps foot in the Philippine Basketball Association. The 6-foot-8 Fil-Norwegian will no longer carry his...


With NCR-plus coming under Enhanced Community Quarantine from March 29 to Easter Sunday, the Games and Amusements Board has issued a memo to all...


Athletes and sports personalities who inspired and gave Philippine sports something to cheer about in mankind’s darkest hour will be recognized accordingly in the...


Meralco further boosted its offense after signing super scorer Alvin Pasaol to a two-year deal, Thursday. The Bolts’ 10th overall pick in the 2021...


Twenty-three out of the 61 drafted players in the 2021 Rookie Draft were let go to the Philippine Basketball Association’s free agents list.  NorthPort,...


Philippine Basketball Association commissioner Willie Marcial emphasized that the league will not impose a ban on TNT guard Bobby Ray Parks, Jr. It has...


Tim Cone is the latest personality to extend his best wishes to JC Intal following the veteran cager’s decision to call it a career....


For successfully leading the PBA to restart its 45th season in a most unconventional way, Commissioner Willier Marcial is going to be honored in...