Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
PNVF president Tats Suzara gives a message to the 16 aspirants—a mix of veterans and promising collegiate players—answering the whistle in the PNVF tryouts for the national women’s volleyball team at the Subic Gym on Wednesday

2021 AVC Women's Championship

PNVF to begin indoor NT bubble training on July 1

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation will call up all the members of the indoor teams for a bubble training in Ilocos Norte starting on July 1.

The men’s team will hold their training in Laoag until August 31 while the women’s side will end their bubble on August 15.

“Training for the national teams officially starts on July 1 and we are very thankful that Ilocos Norte has agreed to adopt our national athletes who will be training in a bubble environment,” PNVF president Tats Suzara said.

“The Asian championship and the SEA Games are priority events on the national team program.”

The women’s side will end earlier as they will continue their training in Pampanga for the 21st Asian Senior Women’s Championship.

Suzara said the Asian championship will be played in Pampanga and Subic from August 29 to September 5.

“At least 10 countries are expected to take part in this major Asian Volleyball Confederation and International Volleyball Federation tournaments,” Suzara said.

The venue for the Ilocos Norte bubble will be the Centennial Arena.

The men’s side, on the other hand, will leave the country early September for the 21st Asian Men’s Volleyball Championship in Japan, which takes place from September 12-19.

Both teams are also training for the 31st Southeast Asian Games.

The women’s team coached by Odjie Mamon currently stand at 16 pool players, namely Jaja Santiago, Aby Maraño, Majoy Baron, Mylene Paat, Iris Tolenada, Ria Meneses, Dell Palomata, Eya Laure, Kamille Cal, Mhicaela Belen, Ivy Lacsina, Alyssa Solomon, Jennifer Nierva, Faith Nisperos, Imee Hernandez, and Bernadette Pepito.

#ReadMore  Killer smile takes on new meaning with Rookie MVP Belen

Dante Alinsunurin’s men’s team, on the other hand, have Bryan Bagunas, Marck Espejo, Mark Alfafara, John Vic De Guzman, Rex Intal, Kim Malabunga, Francis Saura, Jack Kalingking, Jessie Lopez, Ricky Marcos, Ish Polvorosa, Joshua Retamar, Joshua Umandal, Ysay Marasigan, Nico Almendras, Joeven Dela Vega, JP Bugauan, Lloyd Josafat, Kim Dayandante, and Manuel Sumanguid.

All of the players have received full inoculation last Friday.

Also set to hold their bubble in Laoag City is the Premier Volleyball League come the third or fourth week of July.

Written By

You May Also Like

32nd SEA Games

After missing Creamline’s championship run in the 2023 Premier Volleyball League All-Filipino Conference, team captain Alyssa Valdez hopes to recover in time to join...

32nd SEA Games

Fresh from bagging the All-Filipino Conference crown, Creamline’s main core is now setting its sights on the Philippine women’s national volleyball team’s campaign in...


After four months, Johnvic De Guzman finally made his return to the taraflex on Wednesday night. De Guzman was inserted by AMC-Cotabato head coach...


Cignal star Marck Espejo is bracing for a dogfight with AMC-Cotabato in Game Two of the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference finals. The HD...

Spikers' Turf

Marck Espejo’s monster outing powered Cignal’s 25-22, 25-22, 28-26 sweep of AMC-Cotabato in Game One of the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference finals at...


Jade Disquitado reset the conference records while towing Iloilo past Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography in four sets, 21-25, 25-23, 25-21, 25-22, in the 2023 Spikers...


University of Santo Tomas sent winless University of the East on the brink of elimination, 25-17, 25-16, 25-17, to return to the win column...


AMC-Cotabato bowed to Cignal in four sets to end the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference round-robin semifinals, 17-25, 21-25, 25-22, 23-25, Monday at the...