Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PFL: Undermanned Kaya Iloilo downs Stallion Laguna, extends winning streak to five

Kaya-Iloilo bucked a lack of personnel to strengthen its hold on the top spot in the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League after a 3-0 win over Stallion Laguna, Saturday evening, at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

With only four players named on the bench with multiple absentees due to “medical reasons”, the league leaders managed to secure a two-goal cushion before the halftime break.

Jarvey Gayoso scored his sixth goal of the season in the 38th minute off an assist from fellow UAAP standout Mar Diano.

Skipper Jovin Bedic then added to Kaya-Iloilo’s tally in the 40th minute with a fine finish after Stallion Laguna failed to clear its lines.

Come the second half, Daizo Horikoshi scored Kaya-Iloilo’s third goal of the game with a fantastic free kick in the 64th minute.

Unfortunately for Kaya, Gayoso had to be stretchered off in the 77th minute because of an injury. He was replaced by Ghanaian midfielder Patrick Arthur.

Coach Yu Hoshide’s men increased their lead at the top of the table to 15 points behind five straight wins.

On the other hand, Stallion Laguna remains in third place with six points on the back of two wins and two losses.

#ReadMore  Gayoso strike guides Ateneo in pivotal win against La Salle
Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Donning a blue kit at the Rizal Memorial Stadium while playing in the final third of the pitch may have been familiar for Jarvey...


Kaya-Iloilo closed its 2023-2024 AFC Champions League campaign with a 1-3 loss to South Korean side Incheon United Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium...


Quincy Kammeraad exorcised some demons by winning the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara final with Kaya-Iloilo last Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. Kammeraad, Kaya’s...


The best teams always find a way through. Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting...


Cam Rodriguez believes that the recently concluded 2023 PFF Women’s League demonstrates tangible progress for women’s football in the Philippines. Rodriguez, a member of...


Hali Long has added another achievement to her illustrious career. Long, who has made 80 international appearances with the Philippine Women’s National Football Team,...


In a thrilling showdown last Saturday, Kaya-Iloilo secured its inaugural PFF Women’s League sponsored by Coca-Cola Philippines title with a narrow 1-0 victory over...


Kaya-Iloilo fought valiantly, but it just wasn’t meant to be. In a battle between two champion teams, Kaya lost 1-2 against the reigning J1...