Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PFL champs Kaya, UAAP kings FEU to figure in group phase clash in CPA

Kaya-Iloilo and Far Eastern University are set to go head-to-head in the group stage of the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara.

During the draw held on Saturday at the Philippine Football Federation office in Pasig, the winners of the 2022–2023 Philippines Football League and UAAP Season 85 were drawn together in Group A.

The duo will be joined by other teams such as Inter Manila FC, Loyola FC, Don Bosco Garelli FC, and the Philippine Air Force.

Dynamic Herb Cebu, which finished behind Kaya-Iloilo in the PFL this past season, will headline Group B.

Cebu will be joined by fellow PFL team Maharlika Manila, UAAP side University of the Philippines, as well as Pilipinas Dragons FC and Manila Digger FC.

In Group C, PFL teams Stallion Laguna and Mendiola FC 1991 will be joined by Davao Aguilas – UMak, Tuloy FC, Adamson University, and the Philippine Army.

The tournament is scheduled to commence on July 15, 2023.

The top two teams from each group and the two best second-placed teams will advance to the knockout stages.

United City, the defending champions, will not participate after withdrawing from the previous PFL season.

#ReadMore  De Guzman lifts PLDT to bounce back win; Army, Navy create tie at fourth
Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


The best teams always find a way through. Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting...


Cam Rodriguez believes that the recently concluded 2023 PFF Women’s League demonstrates tangible progress for women’s football in the Philippines. Rodriguez, a member of...


Hali Long has added another achievement to her illustrious career. Long, who has made 80 international appearances with the Philippine Women’s National Football Team,...


In a thrilling showdown last Saturday, Kaya-Iloilo secured its inaugural PFF Women’s League sponsored by Coca-Cola Philippines title with a narrow 1-0 victory over...


Wewe Medina took charge on both ends as Philippine Army overcame a 0-2 deficit to stun Ateneo-Fudgee Barr in five sets, 22-25, 19-25, 26-24,...


Kaya-Iloilo fought valiantly, but it just wasn’t meant to be. In a battle between two champion teams, Kaya lost 1-2 against the reigning J1...


Just two years into its existence, Dynamic Herb Cebu has already enjoyed victory on the continental stage. The Philippines Football League side defeated Myanmar’s...


Dynamic Herb Cebu secured its first-ever victory in continental competition by defeating Myanmar’s Shan United 1-0 in the 2023-2024 AFC Cup on Thursday at...