Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Paolo Orbeta leads North past South anew in MPBL Executive Game

The North Executive All-Stars triumphed over the South Executive All-Stars anew, 82-68, in the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go/MPBL Lakan Executive Game at the SM Mall of Asia Arena, Thursday. 

Paolo Orbeta and Jemal Vizcarra kick-started a telling 17-7 blast to turn a once one-point lead to a wide 13-point advantage for the North, 79-68, with 36 seconds remaining in the game.

Jay Javelosa stopped the bleeding for the South with a lay-in, before Vizcarra hammered down the nail in the coffin with a long-range bomb.

Orbeta spearheaded the North’s title defense with 29 points, eight rebounds, four assists, and two steals. The Makati team owner also bagged the Most Valuable Player plum for the second time in a row.

“Siyempre hardest is to win back-to-back championship. We have to motivate ourselves kung paano kami magcha-champion. Kailangan namin kunin ito sa other team. They’re more athletic, taller, mas bata. But ‘yung execution, ang ganda ng ball movement namin sa huli. Yun ang nagpanalo sa amin,” said Orbeta.

Vizcarra, who serves as Paranaque’s team manager, had 20 points and eight boards for the North. Meanwhile, Rizal team owner Xandrei Cruz chipped in 11 points in the victory.

On the other hand, Javelosa paced the South with 22 points, nine rebounds, and five assists. Merman Flores (team manager of General Santos) and Aldrianne Anglim (assistant team manager of Bicol) had 10 points each.

Completing the North roster were Nueva Ecija’s assistant team manager Mike Baldos, Caloocan head coach John Kallos, Quezon City team owner Onyx Crisologo, Bataan team manager Gary Palmero, Pasay co-owner Miguel Ligot, Navotas team owner Rico Quicho, Valenzuela congressman Eric Martinez, Pampanga team owner AG Gonzales, Manila owner Roman Ang, Marikina team owner and head coach Elvis Tolentino, San Juan team executive Chris Conwi, and Bulacan team owner and congressman Jonathan Alvarez.

#ReadMore  CJ Perez not satisfied with PBA BPC nomination: 'Wins talaga nasa isip ko'

Meanwhile, the South was composed of Bacoor team manager JR Navarro, Basilan general manager Danny Rebosura, Muntinlupa team manager Kaizer Galvez, Binan team owner Gel Alonte, Cebu owner Miguel Wong, Zamboanga team manager Alvin Munio, Davao assistant team manager Raul Alao, Batangas team manager Gerrin Tee, Bacoor team owner Dennis Abella, and Mindoro team owner Justin Tan.

In last year’s edition, the Orbeta-led North All-Stars spoiled MPBL team owner Manny Pacquiao’s 28-point performance, 102-100.

The Scores:

North 82 — Orbeta 29, Vizcarra 20, Cruz 11, Baldos 9, Tolentino 5, Ligot 4, Kallos 2, Gonzales 2, Crisologo 0, Conwi 0, Palmero 0, Francisco 0, Martinez 0.

South 68 — Javelosa 22, Anglim 10, Flores 10, Tan 8, Galvez 6, Vargas 4, Navarro 3, Munio 3, Tee 2, Alao 0, Alonte 0, Chua 0, Abella 0.

Quarterscores: 16-20, 35-38, 65-53, 82-68.

Story by Jonash Dannug
Photos by Thel Suliva and Nicks Hernandez

Written By

You May Also Like


A major reboot will take place once the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League restarts this December. Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas, the league behind the country’s only professional...

3x3 Basketball

Roider Cabrera’s experience in the halfcourt game will come in handy as he banners Terrafirma in the inaugural PBA 3×3 wars. The 6-foot-2 stretch...


For the past two years, John Wilson has been the face of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League.  The 6-foot-2 gunner had been in the...


Siquijor’s Joshua Alcober was recently sentenced to a lifetime ban in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup last Thursday. Less than 24 hours later,...


At 40 years old, Jerwin Gaco still keeps adding championships to his already-storied basketball career. The 2019-2021 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Lakan championship was Gaco’s 15th...


Mark Yee wanted to change the script of his basketball career when he joined Davao Occidental-Tigers in 2018.  Known as a physical bruiser when...

3x3 Basketball

Terrafirma is contemplating assigning its other 2021 PBA Rookie Draft picks to its PBA 3×3 team.  Dhon Reverente, Jay Javelosa, Immanuel Custodio, and Terrence...


Twenty-three out of the 61 drafted players in the 2021 Rookie Draft were let go to the Philippine Basketball Association’s free agents list.  NorthPort,...