Connect with us


De Guzman, Torres headline National Men’s Volleyball Team pool



Tiebreaker Times De Guzman, Torres headline National Men's Volleyball Team pool News PVL Volleyball  Sammy Acaylar Reyson Fuentes Rey Taneo Relan Taneo RanRan Abdilla Peter Torres Peter Quiel Mark Deximo Mark Alfafara Louwie Chavez Lorenzo Capate John Vic De Guzman John Paul Bugaoan John Kenneth Sarcena John Carascal Jeff Malabanan Jack Kalingking Howard Mojica Herschel Ramos Geuel Asia Esmail Kasim Erickson Ramos Eddiemar Kasim Dave Cabaron Bonjomar Castel Anjo Pertiera

Reigning NCAA Most Valuable Players John Vic de Guzman headlines the 25-man pool for the Men’s National Volleyball Team.

Joining the 24-year-old standout from Saint Benilde are two of the finest players to ever grace the UAAP: Peter Torres, formerly of National University, and Mark Alfafara, an alumnus of University of Santo Tomas.

The announcement was made by the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc., Tuesday afternoon at the Golden Phoenix Hotel in Pasay City.

The rest of the pool are:

Rey Taneo
Relan Taneo
Howard Mojica
RanRan Abdilla
Dave Cabaron
Lorenzo Capate
Esmail Kasim
Eddiemar Kasim
Peter Quiel
Reyson Fuentes
Jeff Malabanan
Herschel Ramos
Bonjomar Castel
John Paul Bugaoan
John Carascal
Anjo Pertiera
Mark Deximo
John Kenneth Sarcena
Geuel Asia
Louwie Chavez
Jack Kalingking
Erickson Ramos

After the announcement, National Team head coach Sammy Acaylar shared that invitations were also sent out to players from the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles and the National University Bulldogs, but the two camps politely declined due to the on-going UAAP season.

“I have a wish list from Ateneo and NU,” the multi-time NCAA champion coach said.

“Ininvite ko sila coming from my heart, ako talaga nagpadala sa kanila ng sulat. It so happened na yung dalawang Ateneo conflict doon sa UAAP tapos yung NU naman maybe they have their practice to do.”

Acaylar quickly added that the team is still open to walk-ins.

“Of course habang nagtre-training kami open pa rin naman ako kung gusto nila mag-serve sa country,” Acaylar shared.

“Bayan natin ito [so] I should be flexible with my decision. Gusto natin bumalik yung volleyball sa standard na maayos.”

READ  UAAP Cheerdance Competition 2015: UP Pep Squad