Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Saint Benilde makes statement against reigning NCAA champ Perpetual

NCAA Season 92 Men’s Volleyball champions College of Saint Benilde Blazers punched in a crucial win over Season 93 titlists University of Perpetual Help System DALTA Altas in the Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference, 25-20, 23-25, 25-23, 25-21, at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Blazers leaned on transferee Vince Abrot and volleyball newcomer Joshua De Sequera for much of their offense. Abrot tallied a game-high 19 points off 16 attacks and three aces, while De Sequera added 14 markers built on eight attacks, four blocks, and two aces.

CSB head coach Arnold Laniog admitted that they wanted to make a statement against their NCAA rivals.

“Sabi ko nga na importante na every game na makatapat namin ‘yung co-NCAA teams namin na makagawa kami ng statement agad,” said Laniog. “Tao-sa-tao, siguro mas beterano kami nang kaunte kumpara sa kalaban namin. Sabi ko nga sa mga players na ipakita namin ‘yun.”

Each set went down the wire, with crucial defensive plays making the difference through the first three frames. The Blazers pulled away in the fourth set, taking a 17-11 lead, their largest of the match. The Altas slowly climbed back, but only came within three points, 17-14, before the Blazers stopped the bleeding and cruised to the win.

NCAA Season 93 Rookie of the Year and MVP Joebert Almodiel led the Altas with 17 markers, while middle blocker Ronniel Rosales managed 14.

Saint Benilde (2-2) take on the Arellano Chiefs (0-4) on Saturday at the same venue. Perpetual (1-4) face the University of the Philippines Maroons (2-2) also on Saturday.

The Scores

#ReadMore  ONE Championship to still hold Infinity 1 in Manila behind closed doors

CSB (3) – Abrot 19, De Sequera 14, Bacani 11, Basilan 10, Adviento 9, Magsino 4, Rojas 1, Almonte 0, San Miguel 0, Dumaran (L), Dy (L)

UPHSD (1) – Almodiel 17, Rosales 14, Ramos 10, Muhali 8, Ramirez 6, Casana 2, Baggayan 1, Atentar 0, Bation 0, Enarciso 0, Go (L), Isidro (L)

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


The Collegiate Press Corps (CPC) will honor seven of the best coaches at the collegiate level, including mentors in volleyball and women’s basketball for...


College of St. Benilde and University of Perpetual Help showcased their dominance over Letran and Emilio Aguinaldo College, respectively, on Sunday to extend their...


College of St. Benilde overcame early resistance from Letran before eventually dominating the match with a 25-21, 25-15, 25-14 victory yesterday, putting them on...


Savouge Aesthetics withstood a tough challenge from Maverick, taking a 25-23, 25-13, 25-21 to boost its semifinals hopes in the 2024 Spikers’ Turf Open...


Savouge Aesthetics bolstered its semifinal bid after making quick work of also-ran RichMarc Sports 3B, 25-15, 25-21, 25-11, in the 2024 Spikers’ Turf Open...


The redemption tour of head coach Sammy Acaylar officially began on Friday night. Exactly three months after the decorated tactician’s uneventful stint with Gerflor...


Savouge Aesthetics overcame a tight opening frame before dominating VNS-Nasty in straight sets, 26-24, 25-18, 25-17, in the 2024 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference, Friday...


The Cignal HD Spikers have been a long-time powerhouse team in the Spikers’ Turf, boasting six titles, making them the winningest team in the...