Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Boyet Fernandez to be crowned with record-tying 5th Coach of the Year plum

For extending their respective squads’ dynasties, two of the best and brightest coaches in the collegiate basketball scene are set to be feted.

San Beda Red Lions head mentor Boyet Fernandez and Ateneo Blue Eagles chief tactician Tab Baldwin will be hailed as the Coaches of the Year in the 2019 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Awards, presented by SportsVision on Monday, May 27 at the Amelie Hotel Manila in Malate.

Fernandez guided the Red Lions to their 11th title in the last 13 years; their 22nd overall in the NCAA Seniors Basketball Tournament.

During the tournament, San Beda only lost once, capping the season with a 14-game winning streak – including a two-game sweep of the Lyceum Pirates in the Finals.

This will be Fernandez’s fifth Coach of the Year plum. He is tied for most in the category with former Ateneo Blue Eagles head coach Norman Black.

For his part, Baldwin is set to receive his second straight Coach of the Year trophy in this annual event organized by the Collegiate Press Corps, composed of scribes from print and online outfits covering the NCAA and UAAP.

Under Baldwin’s watch, the Blue Eagles cruised through the UAAP Season 81 Men’s Basketball Tournament to win their second straight championship, the school’s 10th overall.

Besides the UAAP, Baldwin also led Ateneo-Pilipinas to a valiant fourth-place finish in the 2018 William Jones Cup, even if they were the only collegiate team in the Taiwanese pocket tournament for national teams and clubs.

The awards night backed by Amelie Hotel, Rain or Shine, NorthPort, World Balance, Arellano, and AXA Team EDS will also distinguish the UP Fighting Maroons.

#ReadMore  Jack Animam, Rhena Itesi lock down Clare Castro as NU two away from tying record

The Fighting Maroons were the feel-good story of the collegiate season, overcoming a shaky start to get things together late in the UAAP tournament.

The team led by Paul Desiderio ended up breaking a 32-year Finals drought to end up with silver – the school’s first podium finish in the sport in 32 years as well.

Also set to be honored in the event are Cherry Rondina (UAAP Volleyball Player of the Year); Regine Arocha (NCAA Volleyball Player of the Year); the National University Lady Bulldogs (Award of Excellence); Ateneo’s Angelo Kouame and San Beda’s Javee Mocon (Pivotal Players); Lyceum’s CJ Perez and Adamson’s Sean Manganti (Impact Players).

The awards night will air live on Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas’ Facebook page.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Ethan Kirkness will no longer be heading to the University of the Philippines. This as according to the father of the 6-foot-10 prospect Michael,...

2021 FIBA Asia Cup

Kiefer Ravena tipped his hat to the entire Gilas Pilipinas crew for the sacrifices they made together while inside the bubble preparing for the...

2021 FIBA Asia Cup

Despite the cancellation of Clark as host of the February window of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers, the Gilas Pilipinas pool of players...


Another Dimaculangan is set to enter the University Athletic Association of the Philippines’ collegiate division. But it won’t be at University of Santo Tomas....


Two products of University of the Philippines have joined the already-stacked 2021 PBA Rookie Draft. Hardy floor general Jun Manzo and athletic forward David...


After his standout performance for Gilas in Manama last November, Javi Gomez de Liaño proved that he is ready for the next level. However,...


Ateneo head coaches Tab Baldwin and Oliver Almadro are in the same boat. Their respective squads, the Blue Eagles and the Lady Eagles, are...


Andre Paras was one of the first applicants who entered the 2021 PBA Rookie Draft in early January. But that was not the initial...