Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 84: La Salle’s Kampton, Maglinao sweeps Adamson to punch Final Four slot

De La Salle University became the first team to enter the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball Final Four as Noel Kampton and Vince Maglinao downed Adamson University’s Francis Casas and Ned Pacquing, 21-14, 21-13, Sunday at Sands SM By The Bay.

The Green Spikers have won two straight and their fourth overall in five contests, a big improvement from their two-win season in 2019.

“To be honest po hindi namin expect na magiging ganito standing namin as in ang goal lang namin mag-focus at gawin mga pinapagawa nang coaches namin,” said Kampton.

University of the Philippines’ Dan Nicolas and Louis Gamban prevailed over Ateneo’s Abai Llenos and Amil Pacinio, 21-15, 21-14, to arrest a three-match slide and keep its hopes alive for the remaining Final Four berth.

The Fighting Maroons improved to 2-3 while derailing the Blue Eagles’ march to the semifinals.

Defending champion University of Santo Tomas and Season 82 third placer National University later joined De La Salle in the Final Four by completing a sweep of their Sunday matches.

The Tiger Spikers’ Efraem Dimaculangan and Rancel Varga made short work of Far Eastern University, 21-14, 21-13, and Adamson, 21-9, 21-6, to extend their winning run to four games.

The Bulldogs’ James Buytrago and Pol Salvador, for their part, also stretched their winning streak to four after topping Ateneo, 21-16, 21-17, and FEU, 21-16, 21-23.

The Tigers and the Bulldogs forced a three-way tie with the Green Spikers for the lead at 4-1 heading into the final day of eliminations on Friday.

#ReadMore  Bocboc explains why RDJ will not be with F2 in PVL

Ateneo, which also lost to NU, 16-21, 17-21, in the morning session, ended its elimination round stint with an even 3-3 record.

The Tamaraws. who fielded in Martin Bugaoan in lieu of Vincent Nadera to be paired with Jelord Talisayan, bowed out of Final Four contention with a 1-4 slate.

The Soaring Falcons, who replaced Pacquing for Aaron Mirador in their loss to the Tigers, remained winless in five matches.

Games on Friday starting at 9 a.m. will feature De La Salle against UST, UP versus FEU, and Adamson University and NU.

All bulletins are right here >>

Written By

You May Also Like

2022 VNL Season

Mhicaela Belen is a history maker, becoming the first-ever rookie MVP in UAAP women’s volleyball history. She has also led National University to its...


Despite falling short of the championship, De La Salle University Leiah Malaluan was satisfied with her first year repping the green and white in...


UAAP Season 84 was full of uncertainties for De La Salle University. After failing to enter the Finals for the first time in 11...


Having a winning high school program doesn’t necessarily guarantee a winning collegiate team, once the juniors turn into seniors. The National University Lady Bulldogs...


Tuesday evening was momentous for National University. Its straight-set win over De La Salle University in Game Two of the Finals didn’t just end...


It was right before Game Two of the UAAP 84 Women’s Volleyball Finals. It was the title-clincher. The win would complete a clean sweep...


University of Santo Tomas emerged as the UAAP Season 84 general champion, the school’s fifth-straight crown and 45th overall in the collegiate division. But...


“Sino ba ako?” Those were the first words Karl Dimaculangan uttered after Monolith, the management group behind National University’s women’s volleyball team, offered him...