Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Sophomores Joebert Almodiel, Necole Ebuen cop MVP crowns

Last season’s Rookies of the Year continued to make a splash, as the University of Perpetual Help System DALTA’s Joebert Almodiel and Arellano University’s Necole Ebuen were named the NCAA Season 94 Most Valuable Players.

Almodiel made this his second straight MVP citation while also bringing home the 1st Best Outside Spiker trophy. His fellow Altas Ronniel Rosales made the all-tournament team as the 1st Best Middle Blocker.

Arellano University’s Jesrael Liberato was deemed the Best Opposite Spiker. Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Joshua Magadan and Joshua Mina were named Best Libero and 2nd Best Outside Spiker, respectively. College of Saint Benilde’s Kevin Magsino and Francis Basilan rounded up the awardees, bagging the Best Setter and 2nd Best Middle Blocker awards.

Saint Benilde’s Vince Abrot, who transferred from the University of the East, was the men’s tournament’s Rookie of the Year.

On the women’s side, Ebuen also earned the Best Opposite Spiker trophy.

She is joined on the all-tournament team by San Beda College’s Cesca Racraquin, Daryl Racraquin, and Lynne Matias as the 2nd Best Outside Spiker, Best Libero and Best Setter, in that order. UPHSD’s Cindy Imbo was named the 1st Best Outside Spiker. CSB’s Rachel Austero and Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Bien Juanillo were the 1st and 2nd Best Middle Blockers, respectively.

Matias, who played one year in the UAAP for the Adamson University Lady Falcons, was the women’s side’s Rookie of the Year.

#ReadMore  Hoyohoy-less Iligan stuns Roxas in VisMin
Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


In recent weeks, Jonnel Policarpio has found himself once again in the midst of controversy – but this time, the allegations are not of...


With three former MVPs on board, a Filipino-Canadian scoring machine as a sophomore, and a pool of reliable standouts as holdovers, expect a much...


PLDT overcame a tight opening set to sweep Galeries Tower, 29-27, 25-14, 25-18, to clinch its fifth consecutive win in the Premier Volleyball League...


Cignal made light work of Philippine Coast Guard, 25-18, 25-16, 25-17, to remain unbeaten in the Spikers’ Turf Invitational Conference at the Paco Arena...


PLDT continued its winning streak, handing Gerflor an embarrassing straight-set defeat with scores of 25-8, 25-9, 25-17 in the Premier Volleyball League Second All-Filipino...


Jade Disquitado reset the conference records while towing Iloilo past Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography in four sets, 21-25, 25-23, 25-21, 25-22, in the 2023 Spikers...


Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography toppled Iloilo, 25-23, 11-25, 25-20, 25-15, but still dropped from Finals contention in the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference round-robin semifinals,...


Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography punched its ticket to the semifinals after taking a four-set win over National University-Archipelago Builders, 25-20, 23-25, 25-22, 25-19, in the...