Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ricky Vargas unanimous choice as PBA PC Executive of the Year

Ricky Vargas’ brand of leadership the last two years brought stability to the PBA Board that he was elected to a third consecutive term as chairman for the league’s 45th season.

After earning the confidence anew of the entire Board during its annual planning session last January, Vargas, representing the TNT Katropa, became the first to serve as chairman for three straight terms since Moro Lorenzo Sr. of Pepsi from 1991 to 1993.

Vargas earned the respect of his peers with his cool and calm demeanor but strong-minded will that helped the Board work as a collective unit again and traversed the league into better times.

The tremendous work done by the TNT Katropa executive earned him the unanimous choice as the Danny Floro Executive of the Year by the PBA Press Corps.

Vargas, the former Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president, was supposed to be feted with the award last March 16 at the Novotel Manila in Araneta Center, but the event presented by Cignal was indefinitely postponed for a later date following the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic.

This is the second time Vargas will be honored with the award named after the late affable team owner Danny Floro of the fabled Crispa Redmanizers.

Vargas, who’s also doing a wonderful job as chief of the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP), first won the award handed out by the men and women regularly covering the PBA beat during the 2006-07 season.

Past recipients of the prestigious honor include San Miguel team owner Ramon S. Ang, MVP counterpart Manny V. Pangilinan, Alaska boss Wilfred Uytengsu, Rain or Shine co-team owners Raymund Yu and Terry Que, to name a few.

#ReadMore  NU-NS Bullpups clinch playoff berth as FEU-D locks down AHS in UAAP 82 Boys' Basketball

Elmer Yanga, the amiable team manager of the RFM franchise in the 90s, was the first recipient of the award, winning the honor during its first three years from 1993 to 1995.

SMC sports director Alfrancis Chua was the last to be conferred with the title in 2018.

Written By

You May Also Like


Representatives of the five leagues seeing action in the 2022-23 East Asia Super League (EASL) will be in attendance for the inaugural draw of...


Two of the country’s top sports patrons met on Monday. Manuel V. Pangilinan of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation and Ramon S. Ang of San...


The Philippine Basketball Association reiterated its support for Gilas Pilipinas in light of the fiasco that took place in the 31st Southeast Asian Games....


Philippine Basketball Association chairman Ricky Vargas could not help but rue once more about Filipino prospects plying their trades abroad. Just recently, La Salle’s...


The Philippine Basketball Association is waiting for Kiefer Ravena and NLEX to finish their negotiations before coming up with a decision on the star...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) has its sights set on expansion. Chairman Ricky Vargas disclosed that the Board of Governors has agreed during its...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) has a busy 47th season ahead as it returns to the classic three-conference format in an attempt to normalize...


TNT governor Ricky Vargas will continue to serve as Chairman of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Board of Governors. The league on Monday announced...