Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PSL: Davao Occidental escapes Nueva Ecija for win no. 5

Defending champion Davao Occidental-Cocolife thwarted a furious Nueva Ecija fightback and hacked out a heart-stopping 78-76 decision on Saturday night to remain unscathed in the Manila Bankers Life-Pilipinas Super League Pro Division Second Conference Dumper Cup at the Central Recreational Facility in New Era, Quezon City.

After forward Daniel De Guzman boomed in a three-pointer that pulled the Slashers to within 76-77 in the waning seconds, Tigers guard Emman Calo knocked down a free throw that pegged the final count, only 6.0 ticks left.

Nueva Ecija still had a shot at pulling off a stunner, but De Guzman missed on his last-gasp triple try at the buzzer.

Calo shone for Davao with 18 points and two rebounds, while Larry Rodriguez barely missed a double-double with 15 markers and nine boards.

John Wilson and Marco Balagtas also had nine and eight points, respectively for the Tigers, who rose to 5-0, counting a 108-64 demolition of San Pedro Laguna-ARS last week in the tourney presented by Winzir, co-presented by SCD Cosmetics and Dumper party-list, and supported by NET 25, Adcon, Wcube Solutions Inc., MDC, Unisol, Don Benitos, and Finn Cotton.

The Slashers, coming off a numbing 71-72 loss to Bagong Cabuyao-Homelab Nation also last week, fell to 2-4.

In the other game, Quezon City’s defense harassed Boracay and held the Islanders to just three points in the fourth quarter to cruise to a 61-49 win.

Former PBA player Mac Baracael led the Beacons with 14 points and 11 caroms, while Jan Jamon and Joel Lee Yu combined for 17 markers.

The victory made up for Quezon City’s 73-81 defeat to 1Munti last Dec. 12.

#ReadMore  New Zark's acquisition Ronnie Matias still adjusting to 3x3

Boracay dropped to its second setback in a row, including a 70-79 loss to Pampanga Royce Hotel last Dec. 10, and tumbled to 1-4.

De Guzman carried the fight for Nueva Ecija with 20 points and five rebounds, while Jerick Nacpil added 10 and eight.

Former PBA star Mac Cardona was the lone bright spot for the Islanders with 15 points and six boards.

Batang Kankaloo battles winless Cagayan de Oro-PSP today at 6 p.m. at the Central Recreational Facility, while Cabuyao faces Pampanga Royce in the second tiff at 8 p.m.

The scores

First game

QUEZON CITY 61 – Baracael 14, Jamon 9, Lee Yu 8, Octobre 7, Reyes 7, Casiño 5, Lorenzana 5, Santos 4, Mahinay 2, Arong 0, Jeruta 0, Melegrito 0, Strait 0.

BORACAY 49 – Cardona 15, Faundo 9, Fontanilla 7, Lasco 4, Lopez 3, Alabanza 2, Gimpayan 2, Helterbrand 2, Sablan 2, Soberano 2, Esguerra 1, Mallari 0, Peñaredondo 0.

Quarters: 15-20, 35-34, 50-46. 61-49.

Second game

DAVAO OCCIDENTAL-COCOLIFE 78 – Calo 18, Rodriguez 15, Wilson 9, Balagtas 8, Agovida 7, Jimenez 7, Custodio 5, Apreku 4, Hubalde 2, Ibañez 2, Casas 1, Arana 0, Subido.

NUEVA ECIJA 76 – De Guzman 20, Nacpil 10, Altamirano 9, Brutas 8, Cruz 6, Bartolo 5, Mag-isa 5, Lagrama 4, Mallari 4, Juanico 3, Ingel 2, Bautista 0, Pascual 0.

Quarters: 25-27, 45-40, 64-51, 78-76.

Written By

You May Also Like


Manila paraded Greg Slaughter and emerged triumphant over Binan, 79-63, on Friday in the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Sixth Season at the Alonte...


Manila will field a team comprised of former professionals for the upcoming 2024 MPBL Season. Leading the formidable squad is the seven-foot center Greg...


The Davao Occidental Tigers have announced their return to the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) after a two-year absence. The Tigers, who clinched the...


Kevin Quiambao has been an undisputed winner in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Basketball Tournament, winning the crown back to De La Salle University...


It felt like home sweet home for Nueva Ecija, which secured a victory in front of its local fans in the Pilipinas Super League...


Alpha Omega showed its resilience as they clawed their way back against Davao Occidental-Cocolife to an 88-87 victory in the 2023-24 PSL President’s Cup...


The North selection finally prevailed over their South counterparts, winning 99-91 on late Saturday in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season All-Star...


MVP race pacesetter Justine Baltazar will lead the North Division selection against the best of the South, spearheaded by reigning MVP Jaycee Marcelino on...