Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PFL: United City dethrones Kaya-Iloilo in thriller, takes down Copa Alcantara

United City added another trophy to its collection as they prevailed 3-2 over Kaya-Iloilo to win the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara, Sunday night at the PFF National Training Centre in Carmona, Cavite.

This is the second piece of silverware ever since the team was bought by MMC Sportz Asia back in 2020.

“It was a very tough game,” said United City goalkeeper Anthony Pinthus. “We knew it would be a tough game against Kaya and today was only about the mentality. The team who has the better mentality won, that’s us. We bring the trophy home where it belongs.”

Former Kaya forward Kenshiro Daniels haunted his old side by shooting past goalie Zach Banzon to give United City the lead in the 11th minute.

However, Kaya answered back with two goals to earn a one-goal lead at the break.

Robert Lopez Mendy equalized at the 13th minute while Jhan-Jhan Melliza’s audacious strike from outside the box gave coach Yu Hoshide’s men the lead at the 31st the box.

Come the second half, though, United City retaliated to seal the championship.

Banzon committed an uncharacteristic error and his teammates failed to clear their lines — which allowed Hikaru Minegishi to level the contest at the 51st minute.

United City skipper Mike Ott then scored the match-winner at the 68th minute from close range off a corner from Mark Hartman.

“It was not easy. We grew together. Many new players. In the AFC Champions League, it was not easy. We lost every game,” added Pinthus.

“It was not good for the confidence but we knew when we come back to the Philippines, there we can get the confidence and here we are — champions.”

In terms of individual awards: Kaya’s Daizo Horikoshi was awarded the Golden Boot with six goals this season, Pinthus received the Golden Gloves, and Ott was given the Golden Ball.

#ReadMore  Zark's-Lyceum runs roughshod on Marinerong Pilipino, becomes lowest seed ever to reach Finals

Beforehand, Stallion Laguna sealed third place for the second season running with a 2-1 victory over Dynamic Herb Cebu. Jo Warren Beda scored the winner in the 88th minute while Abou Sy initially gave coach Ernie Nierras’ men the lead in the 17th minute.

Arda Cinkir put the back of the net for Dynamic Herb Cebu at the 34th minute but it was not enough for his team to turn the tide.

Kaya-Iloilo XI: Banzon (GK), Arthur, Kekkonen, Curran, Diano, Melliza, Mitchell, Horikoshi, Rota, Menzi, Lopez Mendy

United City XI: Pinthus (GK), Lyngbo, Ott, Daniels, Minegishi, Dizon, Hartmann, Robertson, Sendra, Custodio, Forrosuelo.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Kaya-Iloilo’s hopes of making it to the next round of the 2022 AFC Cup suffered a huge blow after it lost 4-1 to Malaysian...


Kaya-Iloilo started its AFC Cup 2022 campaign on a sour note after it suffered a 2-1 loss to Cambodian club Visakha, Friday night, at...


The Philippine Azkals drew 0-0 against Yemen in their Group B clash in the third qualification round of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup, Wednesday...


Twenty-three players will hold the hopes of the country as coach Thomas Dooley picked his side to compete in the last phase of the...


For the first time since the 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup hosted on Philippine soil, coach Thomas Dooley and talisman Stephan Schrock will work together...


Reigning Philippines Football League champions United City booked a place in the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara finals with a 1-0 win over Dynamic Herb...


Daizo Horikoshi proved to be the match winner yet again as his goal allowed Kaya-Iloilo to prevail 1-0 over Stallion Laguna in the semifinals...


Stallion Laguna dug deep and clinched a place in the final four of the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara with a goalless draw against United...