Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PBA Press Corps to honor Willie Marcial with Mr. Executive award

The man credited for the successful staging of the PBA Philippine Cup bubble will have his share of the limelight during the PBA Press Corps virtual Awards Night on Sunday at the TV5 Media Center.

The men and women who cover the PBA beat will bestow the title Mr. Executive to Commissioner Willie Marcial for bravely leading the way for the 500-plus strong league delegation in Clark, Pampanga to successfully stage the restart of the 45th season.

The bubble was without a hitch, but Marcial, strong-minded and firm in his decisions, managed to navigate a troubled season into safe waters and put a fitting end to what had been the most challenging period in the history of Asia’s first ever play-for-pay league.

Marcial serves as one of the major awardees in the hour-long event presented by Cignal TV. The program will be aired on March 8 over PBA Rush.

Along with Marcial, the 2019 recipient of the traditional Danny Floro Executive of the Year award, PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas, will also be honored during the presentation to be hosted by Rizza Diaz and Carlo Pamintuan.

One more award in the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble will be named.

The 12 teams which went out of their way in order not to cancel the PBA season are the recipients of the bubble President’s Award together with 2019 winner Vergel Meneses, the current Bulakan, Bulacan mayor and one of the 25 Greatest Players in league history.

San Miguel mentor Leo Austria also gets a piece of center stage as the awardee for the 2019 Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year, as well as NorthPort veteran Sean Anthony, who will be honored as the 2019 Defensive Player of the Year.

#ReadMore  Out of six championships, PBA bubble crown most special for LA Tenorio

Completing the 2019 batch of honorees are NorthPort vs. NLEX (Game of the Season); CJ Perez, Robert Bolick, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Javee Mocon, and Abu Tratter (All-Rookie Team); Christian Standhardinger, Kiefer Ravena, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, and Coach Yeng Guiao (All-Interview Team); and PBA D-League Finals MVPs Thirdy Ravena (Aspirants’ Cup) and Hesed Gabo (Foundation Cup).

Previously named were Justin Chua (Top Bubble D-Fender); Calvin Abueva, Chris Ross, Mark Barroca, Christian Standhardinger, and Chua (All Bubble D-Fenders); RJ Jazul (Mr. Quality Minutes); CJ Perez (Scoring Champion); Barangay Ginebra-Meralco Game Five semis (Game of the Bubble); and the quintet of Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido (All-Rookie Team).

A special citation, meanwhile, will be handed out to the PBA staff for its non-stop work to ensure the well-being of the Clark bubble.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Players from the Philippine Basketball Association voiced their opinions on the controversial Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup game pitting ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu and Siquijor. Despite...


ALCANTARA — The MJAS Zenith-Talisay City Aquastars waxed hot from beyond the arc early, then finished strong to manhandle the Dumaguete Warriors, 92-72, in...


ALCANTARA — KCS Computer Specialist-Mandaue City found its groove in the fourth period to break away from Tubigon Bohol and register a 97-71 win...


All 12 teams of the Premier Volleyball League have agreed to move the start of the 2021 Open Conference to the late second quarter...


ALCANTARA — The game between ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu City and Siquijor in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup has been postponed because of...


ALCANTARA — The MJAS Zenith-Talisay City Aquastars got the jump on the KCS Computer Specialist-Mandaue City and never looked back, authoring a 77-57 beatdown...


ALCANTARA — ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu City staved off Dumaguete, coming away with a 67-57 win in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup on...

2021 SEA Games

The Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) is hoping to work hand-in-hand with local government units (LGUs) for the preparation of national athletes ahead of the...