Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


CJ Perez to be hailed as PBA PC scoring champ anew

CJ Perez and Aaron Black lead the initial batch of players to be recognized in the PBA Press Corps virtual Awards Night on March 7 at the TV5 Media Center.

The 27-year-old Perez gets his second straight Scoring Champion award, while Black banners the All-Rookie Team to be feted by the group of reporters covering the PBA beat during the event that will honor the top performers of both the 2019 season and the 2020 Philippine Cup bubble, respectively.

The one-hour program is presented by Cignal TV and to be shown on PBA Rush on March 8.

Perez, the former NCAA MVP out of Lyceum, averaged 24.4 points during the all-Filipino conference last year while still with Terrafirma. He leads the league in scoring for the second straight season. He normed 20.8 points as a freshman, which saw him run away with the Rookie of the Year honor and a place in the Mythical Team.

PBA-Season-45-Meralco-vs-NLEX-norman-black CJ Perez to be hailed as PBA PC scoring champ anew Basketball News PBA  - philippine sports news

Meanwhile, Black, 24, leads the All-Rookie team following his stellar performance with Meralco in the bubble. He also helped the Bolts make the semifinals of the Philippine Cup for the first time in franchise history. He went on and win the season’s Outstanding Rookie Plum.

Joining Black in the All-Rookie unit are Arvin Tolentino of Barangay Ginebra, Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Eboña of Alaska, and Renzo Subido of NorthPort.

Other distinct awards to be handed out for the short 2020 season are the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble, Mr. Executive, President’s Award, Top Bubble D-Fender, All Bubble D-Fenders, Mr. Quality Minutes, and Game of the Bubble.

#ReadMore  Malonzo, Thirdy excited for Mighty team up, still talk about epic dunk

Awardees of the 2019 season will also be honored during the special rite led by 2019 Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year Leo Austria of San Miguel; Danny Floro Executive of the Year PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas; and Presidential Awardee Vergel Meneses, the current Bulakan, Bulacan mayor and 1995 league MVP.

Completing the 2019 batch of honorees are NorthPort vs. NLEX (Game of the Season), CJ Perez, Robert Bolick, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Javee Mocon, and Abu Tratter (All-Rookie Team), Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, and coach Yeng Guiao (All-Interview Team), and PBA D-League Finals MVP Thirdy Ravena (Aspirants’ Cup) and Hesed Gabo (Foundation Cup).

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Athletes and sports personalities who inspired and gave Philippine sports something to cheer about in mankind’s darkest hour will be recognized accordingly in the...


For successfully leading the PBA to restart its 45th season in a most unconventional way, Commissioner Willier Marcial is going to be honored in...


Olympic silver medalist Hidilyn Diaz leads a short but solid list of sportsmen and entities to be handed out with citations in the SMC-PSA...


When Alvin Pasaol was selected as the ninth overall pick by Meralco, one of the first Bolts players to message him was Aaron Black....


On Sunday, the third-ever Gilas Pilipinas round will open the festivities of the 2021 PBA Rookie Draft. Despite having 86 entrants this year, the...


TNT put itself in prime real estate in getting an apt replacement for disgruntled guard Bobby Ray Parks Jr. Thursday morning, the PBA approved...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

With Gilas Pilipinas 3×3 set to become an all-PBA team soon, the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas is now working with the league regarding the...


PBA Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro expressed gratitude for the special citation given to the league’s staff in the PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night,...