Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PBA hails Asian Games heroes

Headed by Philippine Olympic Committee president and PBA chairman Ricky Vargas, the Philippine Basketball Association welcomed the Filipino heroes of the 2018 Asian Games on Sunday evening.

In a ceremony held at the historic SMART Araneta Coliseum, all 26 medalists in the Asiad were given their incentives from the POC.

Gold medalists Hidilyn Diaz, Yuka Saso, the Women’s National Golf Team, and Margie Didal headlined the event held prior to the tip-off of the Barangay Ginebra-San Miguel tilt.

They were given PHP 2,000,000.

Also present were silver medalist Rogen Ladon, the men’s and women’s poomsae team, Agatha Wong, Pauline Lopez, Divine Wally, Meggie Ochoa, Jefferson Loon, Dines Dumaan, Bianca Pagdanganan, Cherry May Regalado, Junna Tsukii, Almohaidib Abad, Carlo Paalam, and Eumir Marcial.

Silver medalist Kiyomi Watanabe is in Japan.

Ladon and Watanabe were given PHP 500,000, while the bronze medalists were rewarded with PHP 300,000.

Moreover, the gold and silver medalists were given premium phones by SMART Communications.

All the members of the PBA Board were also present.

#ReadMore  Tim Cone looks to fix Ginebra defense heading into Game Three
Written By

You May Also Like

2021 SEA Games

Jocel Ninobla still remains the queen of the mats. The University of Santo Tomas product amassed a combined score of 7.765 on her two...

2021 SEA Games

Arnel Mandal secured the country’s only gold medal in the 31st Southeast Asian Games’ wushu sanda competitions with a 2-0 sweep of Indonesia’s Laksmana...

2021 SEA Games

Agatha Wong saved her best for last to rule wushu’s taijijian (taolu) event and give Team Pilipinas its first gold medal in the sport...

2021 SEA Games

As expected, the Philippine jujitsu fighters delivered on the first day of the competition. Meggie Ochoa and Annie Ramirez set the campaign of the...

2021 SEA Games

Agatha Wong’s reign ends. The 23-year-old wushu standout could not complete a three-peat bid in the women’s taolu taijiquan. She ended with the silver...

2021 SEA Games

Although she’s the odds-on pick to lift the gold in her division, Olympic champion Hidilyn Diaz refused to look past the opposition in the...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) has its sights set on expansion. Chairman Ricky Vargas disclosed that the Board of Governors has agreed during its...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) has a busy 47th season ahead as it returns to the classic three-conference format in an attempt to normalize...