Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


V-League/Spikers’ Turf All Star Teams revealed

The Shakey’s V-League and Spikers’ Turf will begin what is hoped to be a resumption of a tradition for the country’s pioneering volleyball league — an All-Star Game.

An All-Star Game for both divisions will be held on Sunday, November 20 at the Philsports Arena in Pasig City.

“We believe that the timing is perfect for such an endeavor,” said Sports Vision President Richard Palou of what is to be the culminating event for the Shakey’s V-League’s 13th season and the fledging Spikers’ Turf’s second season.

“This is not only to showcase our best but to also give back to the fans and the victims of Typhoon Lawin.”

“The coaches for each team were determined by their respective performances,” according to tournament director Tonyboy Liao.

“As for the players, they too are based on the best performers statistically in their position. The coaches, selected their players in a ‘draft-like’ manner. And like the NBA All-Star Game, all the players participating in this charity event will wear their respective light and dark club or school jerseys depending on which team they are listed.”

For the Spikers’ Turf, Team 1 will be coached by the trio of National University’s Dante Alinsunurin, Champion’s Norman Miguel, and Philippine Air Force’s Vhyl Verayo. Team 2 will find the triumvirate of Ateneo’s Oliver Almadro, IEM’s Jun Balobar, and Cignal’s Macky Cariño combining their smarts.

In the V-League Division, Team 1 will be handled by Philippine Air Force’s Jasper Jimenez, Bureau of Customs’ Sherwin Meneses, and Laoag’s Nestor Pamiliar. Their opposites on Team 2 will be John Abella of Pocari Sweat, the University of Santo Tomas’ Kungfu Reyes, and Jerry Yee of the University of the Philippines.

#ReadMore  PacificTown-Army gains crucial footing, pushes Bali Pure to brink of elimination

National University’s Jaja Santiago and Jasmine Nabor and their coach during the collegiate conference, Edjet Mabbayad, were also named to the All-Star team as players and coach respectively along with San Sebastian College’s Grethcel Soltones who was named the Most Valuable Player of the Open Conference.

For the Spiker’s Turf All-Star Game, College of St. Benilde’s Johnvic De Guzman was voted for a berth. However, they will all be unavailable to participate due to various commitments.

The one-day affair will start at 1:30pm with fans who availed of ringside and courtside seat tickets (PhP300 each) an opportunity to get autographs or photos with their favorite All-Stars. Lower box tickets are priced at PhP200 each while Bleachers tickets will be complimentary.

The Spikers’ Turf All-Star Game will commence at 3:00pm to be followed immediately by their respective awarding of plaques to commemorate their being named as Spikers’ Turf All-Stars.

The Shakey’s V-League All-Star Game begins service at 5:15pm and will also be followed by the respective awarding of plaques.

“The games will be televised by our partner, ABS-CBN, although on a delayed basis,” added Sports Vision General Manager Ramon Martelino.

“The proceeds after costs will be donated to the victims of Typhoon Lawin through ABS-CBN Foundation. Hopefully, through volleyball we can generate awareness about the plight and the suffering of our countrymen and for our players, coaches, partners, and fans to be socially aware.”

These All-Star Games are made possible by Shakey’s, Mikasa, Accel, BaliPure, Pocari Sweat, Philippine Sports Commission, and ABS-CBN Sports and Action.

#ReadMore  Allein Maliksi on being traded: 'Nakaka-iyak talaga na nalipat ako'

Here are the rosters for the 2016 ASG:

2016 Spikers’ Turf All Star Game

Team 1 – Light UniformTeam 2 – Dark Uniform
Louie Chavez (PAF) – LSandy Montero (Cignal) – L
Kheeno Franco (IEM) – MBGreg Dolor (IEM) – MB
Reyson Fuentes (PAF) – MBRex Intal (Ateneo) – MB
Jeffrey Malabanan (PAF) – MBPeter Torres (Cignal) – MB
Esmail Fauzi (NU) – OPHoward Mojica (PAF) – OP
Edward Ybanez (Cignal) – OPRodolfo Labrador (PAF) – OP
Mark Alfafara (PAF) – OSYsrael Marasigan (Cignal) – OP
Bryan Bagunas (NU) – OSMarck Espejo (Ateneo) – OS
Berlin Paglinawan (Champion) – OSAlfred Valbuena (UP) – OS
Patrick Rojas (PAF) – OSReymark Woo (DLSU) – OS
Jessie Lopez (PAF) – SGeuel Asia (DLSU) – S
Vincent Mangulabnan (Cignal) – SIsh Polvorosa (Ateneo) – S

2016 V-League All Star Game

Team 1 – Light UniformTeam 2 – Dark Uniform
Dennise Lazaro (BaliPure) – LMelissa Gohing (Pocari Sweat) – L
Remy Palma (FEU) – MBAmy Ahomiro (BaliPure) – MB
Wenneth Eulalio (Laoag) – MBMarianne Buitre (UP) – MB
Jocemer Tapic (PAF) – MBRia Meneses (UST) – MB
Jessica Galanza (Laoag) – OPToni Rose Basas (FEU) – OP
Angeline Gervacio (BaliPure) – OPMichelle Gumabao (Pocari Sweat) – OP
EJ Laure (UST) – OPDiana Carlos (UP) – OP
Elaine Kasilag (Pocari Sweat) – OSIsabel Molde (UP) – OS
Nicole Tiamzon (UP) – OSMyla Pablo (Pocari Sweat) – OS
Alyssa Valdez (BOC) – OSCherry Rondina (UST) – OS
Fenela Emnas (BOC) – SJia Morado (Ateneo) – S
Wendy Semana (PAF) – SGyzelle Sy (Pocari Sweat) – S
Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Cignal, F2 Logistics, and BaliPure have begun their respective bubble trainings for the upcoming 2021 Premier Volleyball League Open Conference.  Cignal had been in...


Saint Benilde’s top hitter Klarisa Abriam has decided that she will turn pro.  Cignal announced that it had signed the 5-foot-8 spiker out of...


The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has changed the plans of a lot of student-athletes. For collegiate events like basketball and volleyball, which have pro leagues,...


With all the country’s top teams in the Premier Volleyball League, Jovelyn Gonzaga needed to make a tough decision.  Unlike in 2019 — where...


All 12 teams of the Premier Volleyball League have agreed to move the start of the 2021 Open Conference to the late second quarter...


With National Capitol Region-Plus still under lockdown, the Premier Volleyball League is looking to discuss with all 12 of its member teams new options...


Graze Bombita should have been part of a stacked Motolite team last year. However, the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic forced Motolite to fold, leaving its...


With NCR-plus coming under Enhanced Community Quarantine from March 29 to Easter Sunday, the Games and Amusements Board has issued a memo to all...