Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 85 MTK: Kurt Barbosa tows NU to four-peat

National University collected its fourth straight men’s championship after completing a 5-0 sweep of the UAAP Season 85 taekwondo tournament, capping with a 4-3 win over University of Santo Tomas Thursday at the Blue Eagle Gym.

The title is also the Bulldogs’ fourth title in this season — the second in three days after the program won its first-ever poomsae crown on Tuesday.

“Siyempre, sobrang saya no na na-maintain yung four-peat. Alam naman natin na hindi madali na mag-maintain na ganong streak, kailangan talaga ng hardwork,” NU head coach Carlos Padilla said. “Yung training ng mga bata, hindi biro — two to three times a day, Monday to Saturday. So, binigay sa kanila ngayon. Sobrang happy ako na nagbunga yung pinagpaguran nila.”UAAP-S85-Taekwondo-Seniors-Kyorugi-AWARDING-Mens-1st-Category-Kurt-Bryan-Barbosa UAAP 85 MTK: Kurt Barbosa tows NU to four-peat ADMU DLSU FEU News NU Taekwondo UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports news

Tokyo Olympian Kurt Barbosa kickstarted the day for the Bulldogs after taking care of his national teammate Rommel Pablo Jr, 2-0. Barbosa, who went 5-0 for the season, came from behind in a 12-11 first round before fending off Pablo (4-1), 12-7, in the second to take the 1-0 lead.UAAP-85-Taekwondo-Men-Jay-Gilbuena-3 UAAP 85 MTK: Kurt Barbosa tows NU to four-peat ADMU DLSU FEU News NU Taekwondo UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports news

Season 82 Most Valuable Player Sturjay Gilbuena (4-0) then captured the title for the squad, 2-0 (5-5, 3-2), over Reyvin Villanueva (4-1) after taking the 4-0 advantage.

Barbosa won his third straight finweight (under-54 kg) gold for the effort and claimed his second MVP award since Season 81 when he was a rookie.

De La Salle University ended third with a 3-2 win-loss record, capped by a 6-1 rout of rivals Ateneo de Manila University.UAAP-85-Taekwondo-Seniors-Men-DLSU-v-UST-Einz-Aricayos-Israel-Camos-2 UAAP 85 MTK: Kurt Barbosa tows NU to four-peat ADMU DLSU FEU News NU Taekwondo UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports news

Green Jin Einz Aricayos, who won the welterweight (under-80 kg) title, took the Rookie of the Year honors.

#ReadMore  UAAP 85 WBB: Adeshina shines over Kone as Adamson drops UE to 0-12

Joining Barbosa on the men’s finweight podium are UST’s Pablo and FEU’s Radiz Navidad (2-3), while Dex Ian Chavez (5-0) of NU are with UST’s Liporada (4-1) and University of the Philippines’ Lois Manalaysay (3-2) completed the flyweight (under-58 kg) rostrum.

Returning Green Jin Carlo Dionisio (5-0) won the bantamweight (under-63 kg) title over NU’s Kurt Pajuelas (4-1) and UST’s Dave Lobaton (3-2). Gilbuena paced the featherweight (under-68 kg) side with Villanueva and UP’s Kyle Laroya (3-2)UAAP-85-Taekwondo-Seniors-Men-DLSU-v-UST-Justin-Agno UAAP 85 MTK: Kurt Barbosa tows NU to four-peat ADMU DLSU FEU News NU Taekwondo UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports news

Justin Mark Agno (5-0) of UST led the lightweight (under-74) winners with Tamaraw Jemuel Rendora (4-1) and Bulldog Lao Nusair (3-2).

Two DLSU jins took the other two titles with Aricayos and Marc Gasilos (5-0) in the middle/heavyweight (over-80 kg). In the welterweight podium with Aricayos (5-0) are UST’s Israel Cantos (4-1) and FEU’s Hedwig Yap (3-2), while UST’s Mark Arby (4-1) and NU’s Gab Soria (3-2) joined Gasilos.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


THE JOURNEY might not have been smooth from the onset, but National University’s “drive for five” was accomplished. The Bulldogs, down a jin for...


STURDY Gilbuena swept his three matches on the first day of the UAAP Season 86 Taekwondo Kyorugi championships, steering reigning four-peat champion National University...


UNIVERSITY of Santo Tomas regained the throne in the UAAP Season 86 poomsae competition Monday at the Marikina Sports Center. The Tiger Jins cemented...

19th Asian Games

The Philippines lost another top medal hopeful as Tokyo Games veteran Kurt Barbosa dropped his opening-round match to Uzbekistan’s Omonjon Otajonov at the start...


Five Falcons from Adamson University proved that despite being athletes, they can also excel as students. Jasmine Remolino, who competed in the shot put...


A new batch of Blue Eagles is set to go down from the hills of Loyola Heights. Angelo Kouame, Geo Chiu, Jason Credo, Jacob...


Ateneo de Manila University expressed regret over its failure to mount a successful title defense for the first time since Season 68, following a...


De La Salle University witnessed its campaign in the UAAP Season 85 Women’s Football Tournament end in heartbreak. The Taft school was dethroned in...