Connect with us


Team UAAP survives Team NCAA in Filoil All-Star Game



Tiebreaker Times Team UAAP survives Team NCAA in Filoil All-Star Game News UAAP  Simon Camacho John Lloyd Clemente Jayvee Marcelino Jaycee Marcelino Franz Pumaren Clint Doliguez Boyet Fernandez Andrei Caracut 2019 Filoil Flying V Preseason Cup

Though it was an exhibition game, the all-stars of the UAAP and the NCAA took things seriously.

Behind Aljun Melecio and Mark Nonoy, Team UAAP was able to outlast Team NCAA, 86-83, in the 2019 Filoil Flying V Preseason Cup All-Star Game, Friday afternoon.

“It was about bragging rights,” said UAAP head coach Franz Pumaren.

Holding an 84-78 lead with 1:03 left, Jaycee Marcelino, as he had done all game long, provided the spark for the NCAA, scoring on a lay-in to turn the ball game into a two-possession contest.

James Canlas then took over, getting the hoop plus the harm over Nonoy.

After forcing a shot-clock violation, Team NCAA had a chance to score a come-from-behind win. Unfortunately, Marcelino’s stepback jumper missed, leading to a buzzer-beating layup for Simon Camacho.

Andrei Caracut was adjudged as MVP with 12 points. Camacho and John Lloyd Clemente added 11 and 10 markers respectively, while Melecio added seven points and seven rebounds.

Nonoy, who only arrived during the final quarter, scored eight points in just 10 minutes.

“It’s a fun game. It’s nice coaching an All-Star Game. You can just pick anyone else and you’re sure that they’re going to deliver,” added Pumaren.

Kobe Paras and Ricci Rivero did not play in the game, as both were nursing injuries.

Bright Akhuetie, Jerrick Ahanmisi and Jerom Lastimosa, Justine Baltazar, Dave Ildefonso, Ken Tuffin, and L-Jay Gonzales completed the UAAP cast.

Marcelino had a game-high 19 points. Clint Doliguez chipped in 12 points and seven rebounds.

Together with Marcelino, Canlas, and Doliguez, the NCAA was represented by Mike Nzeusseu, Kent Salado, MJ Dela Virgen, Jerrick Balanza, Larry Muyang, JP Maguliano, Laurenz Victoria, and Rommel Calahat. The team was coached by Boyet Fernandez.

READ  San Beda dissects San Sebastian for 10th straight win

The Scores:

UAAP 86 — Caracut 12, Camacho 11, Clemente 10, Nonoy 8, Melecio 7, Tuffin 7, Ahanmisi 7, Baltazar 6, Ildefonso 6, Akhuetie 4, Gonzales 4, Lastimosa 4.

NCAA 83 — Jc. Marcelino 19, Doliguez 12, Jv. Marcelino 10, Muyang 8, Tankoua 8, Canlas 7, Nzeusseu 6, Salado 5, Balanza 3, Dela Virgen 3, Bonifacio 2, Calahat 0, Victoria 0, Maguliano 0.

Quarterscores: 25-18, 45-45, 61-63, 86-83.